When the World is New

After another bad night that resulted in me helping some friends through Black Morass while boycotting vent because of my sheer level of pissed-offish-ness, I was at a loss of what to talk about today. I’d even gone so far as to resign myself to seeing a weekday go by without a post. *gasp*

But then, some small, idle chatter in my guild’s shoutbox began churning my creative milk into buttery bloggy goodness. *I play Tauren, I’m allowed to make milk jokes k?

Anyway, after a short trip down memory lane I was reminded of one of my very favorite WoW activities. Running raids? PvP? Holiday Events?

Nope. My favorite thing to do is help out the babies! And no, I’m not talking about those squaling little tykes hidden in the back of the Shattrath Orphanage. I am talking about baby players with their baby characters. The jocks of WoW would call them N00BZ0RZ. I call them untapped potential.

Let me elaborate: Right now, I’m a horde girl, through and through. When I made my very first character in WoW, however, my friends that played were all hardcore alliance. Humans were boring, gnomes were kinda gross (I couldn’t handle being a miniature Michael Jackson no matter how cute my pink ponytails were), and dwarves just didn’t do anything for me, despite the fact I think the ram mounts are the coolest thing. So, that left Night Elves. I’m not really an elf person, and while druids appealed to me I prefer to get my nature-loving in a more native-american package as opposed to some secretive cult of the moon.

So, I rolled a Night Elf Hunter. I did the whole night elfey huntery thing up until level ten and then met my first higher-level character. He came swooping in with his broad night elf shoulders with a breathtaking white windserpent at his heel to do his bidding. He ran me through the quest to get my first trained pet so fast it made my head spin. A whole lot of -go here, train this-then go here and train this-ok accept the quest-now you’re done go get a pet. WOW. I was amazed.

Then he asked me what kind of pet I wanted. I knew nothing of game mechanics, or even pet talents. All I knew was that I wanted to be bad ass, and during my brief foray into the world of humans I had come upon a quest that led me deep into the bowels of Elwynn forest. There, I beheld a creature so truly terrifying I knew that I had to have one of my own.

I am talking, of course, about the Mine Spider. I had been captivated by the striking black and red appearance and its inherent creepiness. So I told my companion this and then proceeded an epic and harrowing journey spanning two continents, all three major cities, and many different zones.

Along the way we saw the ram mounts of the Dwarves. I asked him how I could get one of those and he told me I had to make friends with the dwarves. So, once I had gotten my spider I bid him farewell and headed back. However, I never made it past Ironforge. On my way through I’d seen some dwarves had quests for me. “Well,” thought I, “What better way to prove my worth than helping them overcome their own obstacles?” So, from level ten on I played a Night Elf Hunter with a spider for a pet who was pretending to be a dwarf. I called her my snow elf.

To this day she sits, languishing on the Terenas server at level 38. I’ve long since moved on, but that encounter with the higher level hunter who helped me out and ran me around stuck in my mind. Now, whenever I see babies on the servers, I do my best to help them out.

Note, that you can usually tell when someone has just started an alt and when someone is actually genuinely new to the game. It’s these people (especially baby druids) that I try to help the most. A couple weeks ago a baby druid in my old guild hit level ten and she was woefully ignorant of how to go about obtaining her bear form. I took ten, fifteen minutes of my time to run out and show here where the spirit stone was and help her take down the owlbeast that ran up. Then, when she was done we flew back to Thunder Bluff and I waited while she finished the quest then we both transformed into bear form and celebrated by dancing. In parting I gave her a gold to send her on her way and finished the night with a gratifying feeling of a job well done.

It really is a great thing to help out the newbies. If you give someone a positive experience when they’re just starting out you’re more likely to encourage a thoughtful and caring raid partner than if you were to ignore them.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (6)
  1. Ahh, nostalgia for old characters. My first character, a sneaky little Gnome Rogue is hiding out somewhere at level 24.

    I always try to look back at the things I learned when I was levelling up and help others to not have to learn them the hard way. I have a couple of “Hunter-in-training” friends that I am proud to say I’ve helped them on their way to 70. I even farmed enough Scorpid Scales in Tanaris to craft a full set for one of them!

    On a side note, I am glad you found your way over to the Horde! 🙂 If I ever decide to try to get a druid past level 15, I’ll be sure to call on you for all my noobish questions!

  2. On days when I have little to do and the inclination, I hit up the starting zones. I usually do this with my perky priestess, who has more or less devoted herself to the downtrodden of Azeroth (“Aww, c’mon fellah; ain’t too hard t’ kill them wolfs. Jes’ hit them real hard-like with yer weapon! Betcha ya can do it!”) It amuses me and I enjoy introducing people to the basic mechanics of the game, their class, and how to do things. Their relief and thanks and wonder with the game is just awesome.

    • Dr. Guin Medicine Woman
    • July 25th, 2008

    I need a mentor like you for my mage. I have no clue what I am doing. Guess I am still a noob concerning the mage class.

    Thanks for another wonderful piece to read in the morning on another blah work day!

    • Tigerfeet
    • July 25th, 2008

    >__< so Romaine is a fire mage and doing not too shabby if I do say so myself.

  3. I’ve just been introduced to your blog via the newcomers section of Twisted Nether and I have to say I am really loving it – nice work, wonderful site name and amazingly fun to read writing. *thumbs up*

    /subscribe
    /hug
    /vanish

  4. Helping new players is a great experience. I don’t usually go looking for them, but if I am on an alt or just running around, I am more than willing to help. Often I can tell if someone really needs help, or if they are just lazy by how they ask. Is there that quiet desperation in their question? Do they look at you with those puppy eyes?

    I remember how I was that first time, on my first MMO, and asking my brother, hey how do you type?

    Then just this week, I spent some time with dad, explaining the difference between /p and /g.

    Karma, baby, it is a better than gold.

Comments are closed.
