Har Har Har you N00B

Oy. *cue exasperated sigh* Have I mentioned before how much I detest that attitude? Really, I don’t think there’s much room for it in an MMO environment, and even less on a PvE server. If you want to act high and mighty there’s plenty of PvP servers out there where you’re perfectly welcome to run around slaughtering those lower level than you.

What brought up this pretty little tangent though? Well, first off, the Secret Agent Cat has a little friend. She falls apart sometimes and needs put back together, but as a mage who lights people on fire… well… let’s just say that burning faces rip much more nicely than faces of the non-burning variety.

So yes, I have an alt. Her name is Romaine, and she’s a mage. I recently hit 20 and finally moved out of depressing undead-land into omg that bear just ripped my arm off land, Hillsbrad. While there I met a level 11 warlock who asked for a duel. Well, ok, why not, I just recently specced back into frost because I was tired of getting my face melted and heard frost mages lived longer.

So we dueled, by the end the health score was 0 (him) to 1/3 (me). He laughs, and proceeds to tell me how awful I am and that he would have beaten me if we’d have been the same level. The only reply I have is a quirked eyebrow and “So?”

Instances like this tend to get me all flustered and defensive. I mean, seriously, I had an obvious previous engagement with that bear over there and I took time out of my leveling repitoir to duel with this schmuck. The least he could do is toss me a gd and leave me be.

I don’t care if you can splat me on the ground and then mop it up with my face. We were level 11 and 20, nobody gets any really awesome moves until much later, so cut me some slack ok? So… to that nameless super-elite rogue, go to a pvp server k? That kind of attitude is expected there.

*Note: I leveled Tigerfeet to 63 on a pvp server before moving her to Hydraxis. I’ve got nothing against PvP servers, they’re frustrating and a whole lot of fun. The daily episodes of World War III that would break out in Stranglethorn around the Nesingwary camp were epic and some of my best memories from that thrice-cursed jungle (note note: the jungle is lots better if you’ve got a hunter along who can track)

Now, back to the world of Tiger-land! I am happy to report that I am ALMOST completely attuned for Onyxia! All that’s left is bathing this trinket in somebody’s blood then it’s on to the great dragon herself. I had a great time yesterday running around with a guildie getting all those quests hammered out.

It took us the better part of a couple of hours, but that was mostly because, while we both needed dragon eyeballs, neither of us posessed the key to get into UBRS. So first there was some scrambling around by me to see where the quests were for what, and then some frustration brought on by a dark screen and NPCs that like to change their name (thus confounding my extensive [track humanoids] search).

I eventually had to resort to a video:

and discovered he’s actually ridiculously easy to find. I just didn’t know there was anything particurlarly interesting at the top of that certain pile of rubble.

So we got the quest and, oh joy of joys! My mage-flavored companion already had 3 of the 4 pieces for the ring! All we needed was to get the ogre boss and then we’d be set!

Just one more little problem… I didn’t know where said ogre boss was, and Atlas was decidedly less than helpful. So, I stealthed and snuck around trying to find where he was. Turns out I wandered into his room a couple of times but dismissed it because he wasn’t immediately visible. /dur. It wasn’t until, in exasperation, I decided we should start from the beginning of the instance and ordered a kamikaze run, that I found him.

My pyrotechnics-inclined friend was very forgiving of my foibles and, with location confirmed, we began our assault. We almost died a couple of times, but it was more from lack of organization than any real lack of skill. Once I began marking targets and set down the two-lacerate rule things went smooth as silk.

So, long story slightly less long, we got the key, farmed our eyeballs… (If you’re doing this with two people it’s easiest just to farm and reset the first room) and then began a long epic world-hopping journey to kill dragons!

Some highlights: I’ve always wanted to play a centaurish character, but after spending some time being transformed into one, I just felt bulky and unweildly.

I also suffered a minor heart attack when I was told to kill a dragon that was guarding the Caverns of Time. Of course, I assumed we’d been asked to take down big and ugly… you know, that level ?? dragon that makes you nervous and wary of your aggro radius every time you pass by him? Instead we only had to kill Chronalis, his smaller and much more manageable brother.

And so, eyes collected, dragons downed, and trinket obtained, my mage buddy and I broke group after a courtesy-port to Shattrath. All-in-all, it was another relaxing weekend!

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (3)
  1. I leveled to 67 on a PvP server as well.. that is quite an adventure. I had a love-hate relationship with Strangethorn, when I was in the mood for some PvP, it was awesome… but when I JUST wanted to kill some raptors, ugh! I would never get a moments peace!

    Grats on the Ony attunement! Now you just have to help me finish getting mine… hehe!

    • Rusco
    • July 28th, 2008

    You make me kind of sorta wish I wasn’t already attached to my alliance druid, since I’m in a guild with 12 people I know irl. Interestingly enough, I actually left that guild for awhile because there were those types of people like that warlock in there.

    Grats on Onyxia attunement. Haven’t done that yet.

    Personally, I hate dueling. I usually get challenged in my resto gear or by über end-game raiders, which never ends well. I also don’t feel accomplished by winning and I feel like crap when I lose. It’s just not fun for me.

    • Tigerfeet
    • July 28th, 2008

    Rusco ~ Exactly, the only time I really enjoy dueling is if I’m trying to perfect something. I remember back in the day when I still played my NE hunter. I would duel with the 60s in our guild (at lvl 15 or so) and they were teaching me how to kite. Even now, I only enjoy dueling between friends.

Comments are closed.
