I Can Haz Action Bar Space?

And how do all the good little kitties and bears out there GET more action bar space?

MACROS! Yaaaay it’s macro time!

First a little preface. I like my default interface, I like it muchly. I like having my mount, my trinkets, my buffs, my food, my consummables, my tradeskills hanging out around my screen. I don’t like opening my spellbook. Ever. So needless to say I have a lot of buttons, and all of my action bars showing. I also like those little gryphons down at the bottom so I’m not interested in anything like Bartender. As far as HUD changes go I’ve confined myself to x-Pearl and MetaHUD.

My personal knowledge of macro creation is limited, and I’m very much a newbie, but I’ve found that it’s not that hard to write some simple macros that will make your life much easier.

In addition to IHML I have 4 macros that I use consistently on my druid. One is for items, Two are for skills, and one is just for fun.

Items:

I carry around with me two set of armor plus my pvp trinket. I use outfitter to quickly swap back and forth but since my trinkets are changing I need to swap them manually off of my action bars. This got obnoxious fast so for a long time I just settled with having all my useable trinkets hanging out together and taking up a grand total of 5 action bar spots.

This weekend, however, I constructed a devilishly simple macro to free up 3 additional action bar slots. Technically there are 2 macros (because I often have 2 useable trinkets) but they’re fundamentally the same:

Button 1

#showtooltip

/Use 13

Button 2

#showtooltip

/Use 14

I didn’t assign any image, just left it with the big red question mark. Now, I have those two on my action bar and the image defaults to whatever item I have equipped in those trinket slots! Simple simple simple, and invaluable if you carry around more than one set of gear.

-Special thanks to Kal from Think Tank for explaining the true use of the ‘#showtooltip’ expression!

Skills:

This macro is a bit more complicated. Ever since I learned Cat Form I’ve had Cower and Growl taking up spots on my action bar. During the big macro spree over the weekend I decided it would be much more effecient to have my aggro-controlling skills all in one place. I’d previously had bear aggro skills grouped together and kitty-ish skills (like prowl and sprint and cower) grouped together.

So I set out to make a macro that, when clicked, would cast growl if I was in bear form and cower if I was in cat form. Here’s what I came up with:

#showtooltip

/cast [stance:1] Growl(); [stance:3] Cower(Rank 5)

My Next macro was pretty much just like the previous, but to be used for Powershifting. You might be asking yourself why you would ever need to powershift ever again after the changes in 3.0, but I’m going to tell you, it’s awesome for getting out of snares. After thinking I could just click my bear button twice to get out of Lady Vasj’s root and then getting owned in the face by lag (hit while in between forms) I’m convinced this mechanic is still necessary.

So, instead of having two /cast !whateverform buttons on my action bar, I wrote the following macro so that I would only need one.

#showtooltip

/cast [stance:1] !Dire Bear Form(); [stance:3] !Cat Form

Simple as that! The tooltip for this displays as the mage’s Arcane Explosion, instead of a related kitty or bear icon, but I’m perfectly ok with that.

Fun!

I’d known that this macro existed for a while, but I had yet to try it out. I didn’t write this, but damn if it isn’t the most fun that I’ve had as a druid since I discovered I could use the summoning stone in flight form.

/Cancelform
/Use Snowball
/Cast Swift Flight Form

Now, if you don’t have Swift Flight Form, like moi /cry, then the last line would read ‘/Cast Flight Form’. But they’re pretty much the same.

What’s this for? You ask. Why, mid-air druid snowball combat of course!

After pelting another druid with snowballs while we flew our slow feathery butts out to Ramparts and having a good old time of it I’ve come to one conclusion.

I’m going to need a LOT more snowballs.

The conclusion I guess is this: before Tiger’s great macro-creation spree these skills and items were taking up 9 action bar slots. After the macro spree they now take up 4. That’s 5 WHOLE SLOTS freed up! That’s not counting the snowball macro of course, but I’m sure I can find a home for him.

Trinket Use + Skill Macros -> From BBB

http://thebigbearbutt.com/2008/11/22/creating-a-dps-trinket-macro/

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (7)
    • kal
    • September 8th, 2008

    For the trinket slots, you should also put in #showtooltip, so it’ll pop up the trinket’s info when you do an onmouseover. Helpful if you have a bunch of trinkets. I also have my ohshit button that is simply

    #showtooltip
    /use 13
    /use 14

    With a badge of tenacity and moroes’ pocket watch, that gives about 32% more dodge. But I also have each one separate so I don’t blow ’em.

    I keep my bear/cat cancelcast forms separate so that I can switch between them as needed. But that’s just me.

    Having a single button for faerie fire is also a nice one. 🙂

    • Tigerfeet
    • September 8th, 2008

    oh, that’s what that does? I’d wondered about the #showtooltip expression. And you’re right, I’ve got two different macros, one for one trinket and one for the other.

    As for switching forms, if I need to I’ll just click on the default form shift button, it switches me between forms with one click.

    aaaand, for faerie fire, I’ve got that button in with my attack sequences, with my action bar that changes based on forms (I LOVE that thing) xD

    Thanks for the #showtooltip er… tip! I’ll definitely implement that, and maybe someday I’ll get around to posting a screenshot of the mess that is my interface.

    • Songwhistle
    • October 17th, 2008

    I can highly recommend autobar. it still gives you all options but in fold out menus fully custumizable so you can keep all your current bars.

    What it does is catogorizing things for you. fx 1 button for all buff food. 1 button for all elixirs and flasks. And gear wise i can recommend outfitter which can be set to auto switch gear when shifting forms.

    • Tigerfeet
    • October 17th, 2008

    Never heard of autobar, I’ll probably check that out once the fervor of Wrath settles down. Outfitter though I know quite well, it’s almost one of the addons I can’t do without ^^

    • Ancasta
    • October 17th, 2008

    Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

    I have been racking my brain all day, trying to figure out how to free up a button on my Bear bar to add Beserk. Your macro for Growl/Cower will do the trick.

    When I kitty DPS I often have my Cower moved to an Actionbar where I have set up a keybinding for my frequent actions – ie the daily bombings. I can now creating this macro and move that button there for ALL instance/raid runs!

    Tanks again! (pun intended 🙂 )

    • Tigerfeet
    • October 18th, 2008

    Ancasta – I really like an addon called IHML – I Have Macro LOL. I don’t know if it’s been updated for 3.0 yet, but it gives you one macro button that automatically changes based on your location. It also interfaces with bigwigs so that if you’re fighting a specific boss that requires a macro (Vasj for tainted core tossing, or Illhoof for demon chains) it will automatically insert the appropriate macro.

    It works for the island dailies too, bombing runs, shrine readings, etc. On the Island it can be a little weird (I can never get it to switch for me for impailing the emmisary of hate for instance) but it does help a whole lot.

  1. Hey Tigerfeet, love your site! I use itemrack to manage my trinkets. I make two little boxes, one for each trinket space. Then mouseover on either shows me all the trinkets in my bags that can go in that slot.

    YMMV 🙂

Comments are closed.
