The Glyphs are Coming! The Glyphs are Coming!

Kill one Gnome if by Land, Two if by Sea.

Well, I can have my seal form and swim in it too, so I think I’ll just go kill lots of gnomes!

Anyway, it’s Tuesday morning, nobody can connect, and I’m sure the blizzard downloaders are groaning under the weight. What’s a druid to do while she waits? Plan her glyphs of course!

For a comprehensive druid-themed list check here. Now, on to Tiger’s Top Glyph Picks!

Major –

Wishlist:
Glyph of Frenzied Regeneration – While Frenzied Regeneration is active, healing effects on you are 20% more powerful.
Glyph of Growl – Increases the chance for your Growl ability to work successfully by 8%.
Glyph of Mangle – Increases the duration of Mangle by 6 sec.
Glyph of Maul – Your Maul ability now hits 1 additional target.
Glyph of Rip – Increases the duration of your Rip ability for 4 sec.

TANKING
Slot1: Glyph of Frenzied Regeneration
Slot2: Glyph of Maul
Slot3: Glyph of Growl / Glyph of Mangle

Notes: I usually only use Frenzied Regeneration if things are getting really bad, there’s a long cooldown and it only really lets me die more slowly. I wish there was a glyph to reduce the cooldown, but the increased healing effects will be nice. Maul attacks 1 more target? WIN! I’m a little on the fence between the Growl and Mangle glyphs. My growl isn’t usually resisted and I can’t really think of anybody that’s died because of it. Longer Mangle time though means more rage to use on things like Maul. I’ll probably go with the Mangle glyph.

LEVELING
Slot1: Glyph of Mangle
Slot2: Glyph of Rip
Slot3: Glyph of Maul

Notes: 6 more seconds on Mangle as a cat is HUGE! The DPS duke! The DPS! Same thing for Rip, 4 more seconds of rip means 4 more seconds of shredding, RAWR! Glyph of Maul, for tanking! I’ll be tanking 5-mans in the expansion most likely. The Maul glyph gives me the most utility of all the tanking glyphs while still letting me use kitty goodness. Myus.

Minor –

Wishlist:
Glyph of Unburdened Rebirth – Your Rebirth spell no longer requires a reagent.
Glyph of Thorns – Increases the duration of your Thorns ability by 50 min when cast on yourself.
Glyph of Challenging Roar – Reduces the cooldown of your Challenging Roar ability by 30 sec.
Glyph of Dash – Reduces the cooldown of your Dash ability by 20%

TANKING
Slot1: Glyph of Unburdened Rebirth
Slot2: Glyph of Thorns
Slot3: Glyph of Challenging Roar

Notes: Unburdened Rebirth? I guess it’s ok, I’d rather have a Glyph of Unburdened Mark of the Wild. Are you listening Blizzard? I’d like to NOT have to remember to carry around 3+ stacks of Wild Quillvine. But, in a pinch, I guess I’ll do without my 1 stack of Acorns, or whateverthecrap they are. Thorns, for 50 minutes? Oh GOODIE! I’m notorious for forgetting to buff myself, this’ll be nice, vurreh nice. Glyph of Challenging Roar, now 30 seconds more often! Well, 30 seconds isn’t much, but every little bit helps.

LEVELING
Slot1: Glyph of Unburdened Rebirth
Slot2: Glyph of Thorns
Slot3: Glyph of Dash

Notes: Unburdened Rebirth, Thorns, same dealie-o as above. Glyph of Dash? Rocket, rocket, ROCKET-CAT HOOOOOOOO!

Not-Used Feral Glyphs:

Glyph of Aquatic Form – Minor Glyph – Increases your Swim Speed by 50% while in Aquatic form – While being a little torpedo sounds like lots of fun I’ll probably be spending more time as a rocket cat. This could of course change, but I doubt it.

Glyph of Rake – Major Glyph – Your Rake Ability prevents targets from fleeing – fleeing? Is this a snare? From the tooltip it sounds like it’s just effective against those lilly-livered Dark Iron Dwarves that always try to run when they’re about to die. I don’t see myself getting much use out of this. Now, if it’s a snare that will work against PCs, perhaps I’ll be swapping it in for PvP. I’ll have to see.

Glyph of Shred – Major Glyph – Increases the damage dealt by Shred to stunned and incapacitated targets by 20% – My targets aren’t usually stunned or incapacitated, they’re usually alive and well and beating me in the face. Only time I see this as effective is with a prowl-feral charge-pounce-mangle-shred combo. While I’m grinding that’s usually more complicated than I ever bother with. Perhaps it’s got some utility in PvP if you’re running around with a stun-lock rogue or a judgement-happy ret paladin but, I just can’t see myself using this one too much.

Glyph of the Wild – Minor Glyph – Mana cost for your Mark of the Wild and Gift of the Wild spells reduced by 50% – Excuse me, mana cost? What the hell are you doing casting MotW and GotW in the middle of a fight? If it removed the reagent component I’d carry this one around with me in a heartbeat, but during downtime when everyone’s buffing, I mean, geez, mana’s not an issue. Buff your raid, munch your mana biscuit, get on with your life.

PS: There’s a LOT of links in here, if something doesn’t link to where you think it sould please let me know and I’ll fix it 🙂

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (3)
  1. For tanking, I wouldn’t bother with Glyph of Mangle. You’re probably going to be spamming it anyway (from what I saw, that still hasn’t changed), so unless you have a nasty streak of misses it shouldn’t drop off anyway.
    Now, in Kitty mode, Glyph of Mangle is a-ma-zing.

  2. Hi,
    Love the blog :-). I have found the Glyph of Rake is a fabulous thing especially if used as a form of crowd control in tight areas. We know the mobs that run and if kitties think of this as a way to “interupt” a flee then perhaps it will move to the varisty list. Personally I it is a lot easier to rake when mob is a 20% and not have to worry about mussing my fur chasing a runner just so they can die tired.

      • Tigerfeet
      • December 13th, 2008

      Hmmm, that is a thought. I had just dismissed it because when I’m in a raid I don’t usually see mobs fleeing, ok, I don’t think I ever see mobs fleeing. Thing is I KNOW it probably happens and it frustrates me that I can’t think of any place this would be useful. Do you have some specific examples? Like… which dungeons? I’m sorry, I’m not trying to sound argumentative at all, teach me where this is useful! You know something I don’t 😀 (I’m also dead tired and most likely spouting nonsense, I’m very glad you like the blog)

Comments are closed.
