Ok, I’ll Come Clean…

I don’t really have any idea what I’m doing.

Mr. Tigerfeet patched his WoW yesterday while the servers were down, and neglected to patch mine. As a result I attempted to drag the installer form his computer over to mine so that I didn’t have to download the darn thing. Long story short, I couldn’t find the installer, tried to overwrite my game files with his, and broke the whole freaking thing.

I had no WoW last night (not that many did) and I was frustrated and tired and cranky. I went to bed, had another short battle with Nibbles the Pirate (our new kitten, he likes to sleep on faces) and finally fell asleep.

This morning I awoke to wander downstairs bleary-eyed to find my computer screen glowing a chilling blue with a Frost Wurm roaring challenges at me. Well, while nibbling on some of last night’s leftovers I managed to log in just long enough to make a quick trip to Orgrimmar for my Shave and a Haircut. I’ve now got long braids and I’m missing one of my horns. Hey, I figure this character is old enough she’s probably a bit the worse for wear.

Mooving on…

I got to work and people are chittering about talent specs and… this is when the panic starts to set in. I’ve been playing as a druid for 2-3 years. You would think I’d know what I was doing, you would think I’d have enough confidence in myself to boldly click my talent buttons and choose my destiny, firm in the belief that I know what I’m doing. You’d think that, wouldn’t you?

You’d be wrong.

I’m not really the kind of person to race headlong off of a cliff (despite the number of times this has happened in-game). I prefer to analyze, over-analyze, and re-analyze everything. I want ONE spec, I want ONE job, and I want to be AWESOME at it. Well, maybe I shouldn’t have rolled a Druid…

No, my consternation comes from the split in the Feral tree. I shall be cat, or I shall be bear. If I do both I’ll miss out on Berserk and I won’t be killer at either. Jack of all, master of none right?

I figured this would be a simple decision. Do I want to tank, or shall I be DPS now? The problem comes from my own conflicting desires and promises… well, maybe not promises, more like agreements I’ve made with my guild.

I was recruited as a feral tank. Once upon a time feral tanking scared the bajeezus out of me. (I’m notorious for not trusting my healers) But since that time I’ve come to enjoy it, I enjoy it quite a bit in fact. I enjoy being a very important person, I enjoy that my job is necessary and that there’s really only 3 (4 come wrath) other classes who can do the same job as I.

Running as DPS doesn’t confer the same level of importance. Yes, DPS is important, if you don’t have enough the fight takes forever and there’s a good chance you’ll run up to the enrage timer and then, well, it’s game over.

Thing is, I want to push the envelope on DPS now that I’m told I’ll be able to. I also don’t want to give up the ‘glamor’ that comes with being a tank. When I was geared enough to go on guild progression runs I would be cheered when I said I was available. Perhaps it’s all in my head, but being ‘just another DPS’ seems to lend itself to a life of obscurity.

Now that I’ve said all that…

I’d like to let everyone know what a wonderful and therapeautic thing a blog can be. I’ve finally typed out everything that I think, my hopes and fears for the expansion, and I have a plan. It’s so painfully obvious, but it’s not something I could accept unless I came to the conclusion on my own.

I’ll do both, of course!

Blizzard is giving us two specs, there is no excuse for me not to have a dps spec and a tanking spec, no reason at all. As of right now I think I’ve been able to plan something out. Relying on my tier bonuses and my current stats I’ve tried to make a hybrid bear-cat build for between now and the expansion. This very well may end up being my leveling build, I’m not too sure.

I’m very much looking forward to being able to test it out in some group environments.

So now, without further ado, here’s

Tiger’s Top Idontknowwhatthecrapimdoing Feral Hybrid Build

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (2)
    • Rahl
    • October 22nd, 2008

    After wrath they plan n patching in the dual spec system!
    On my druid i will have a Tanking and DPS spec, i just hope it comes soon after the release!

    • Rahl
    • October 22nd, 2008

    BTW, how can you not try beserk?? Forget omen for now, try out your new talents whyle we are OP in BC and respec once wrath hits..

Comments are closed.
