And So The Mists Of Time

Possible Spoiler Alert

The following contains mostly pure conjecture, but I do link to one screenshot from the WotLK Beta. Said screenshot contains quest text (as opposed to simply pretty pictures) You’ve been warned.

So how’d ya like them zombies eh?

Lots of fun? Big PitA? Well, now they’re gone and we can all go back to our merry lives of eagerly awating for Northrend to open up for us and….

OMG IT’S THE LICH KING!

You can bet your bacon that Blizzard’s got something bigger, grander, more EXCITING planned for us. And Blizzard, if you don’t then SHAME!

Anyway, when the zombie infestation began becoming more dire I concocted a prediction. Unfortunately I didn’t share this with anyone so I didn’t get the treat of running around screaming ‘I told you so’. Either way, the zombie plague was started way too early, and was ramping up at too great a speed to remain a sustainable pressure on the player-base without becoming cumbersome. In fact, I know quite a few people felt it cumbersome for even the short time it was implemented.

But, as all good storytelling goes, there is rising action, climax, then falling action. The ultimate climax for this story will result in the release of Wrath of the Lich King, on November 13th. Has anyone logged in and noticed your alts being transported, inexplicably, to Silvermoon City? (for the horde). I have no reports from Alliance side, but a number of guildies have noticed this.

Why are characters being moved? Is this Isolated? Is this intentional? I don’t know if it’s happened to me, I haven’t logged in for three days.

I’ve also recieved reports of servers going down today, quietly, unobtrusively. It’s not Tuesday, it’s not patch day, I’m thinking something sneaky is going on.

I present to you, for your perusal, this screenshot from the beta.

Attack against Orcs, attack against all of the horde, yes, that we’ve seen. The zombies were awful.

The second word in the quest-givers sentence, however, is enough to strike terror into the hearts of all loyal Horde.

If you’re not familiar with that particular verb, here’s what Webster’s got to say about it:

raze

  1. To tear down; demolish; level to the ground
  2. To shave or scrape off

Listen to this, let it echo around in your mind. Think of the possibilities, savor the phrase

The razing of Orgrimmar

The razing of Stormwind

It gives me goosebumps all over. Is this going to happen? What will it be like? I can’t wait to find out. Needless to say, my three-day absence from all things WoW will be ending this weekend.

Additionally –

If this does not come to pass, I’m still completely certain that something big WILL be happening to draw our characters to the north. Remember folks, you heard it here first. Secret Agent Cat is on the prowl!

Comments are closed.
