/hug? Noooo… /STEW!

wowscrnshot_112108_180849

I’m sorry Aurik, but being a dyed-in-the-fur hordie this one gave me a chuckle.

So, In the World of Tigerverse, I dinged 77 over the weekend. I’d just sauntered into Sholazar Basin and I had a gutwrenching choice ahead of me.

You see, my little hunter, Kowbelle was faithfully holding onto Tigerfeet’s life savings for her. Pink Floyd would peer curiously into the the sack she carried, bulging with glittering gold coins, numbering at about 4,000. This was more money than little Kowbelle had ever seen before, but her big sister Tigerfeet kept mailing it to her, one and two-hundred gold at a time, for months and months! Surely this would be enough and more than enough for Tigerfeet to buy what she needed, thought little Kowbelle.

Well, you see. I dinged 77 and was faced with a terrible choice. I had only managed to save 4,000 gold. I needed to plunk down 1,000 for cold weather flying, but that would mean I still had to find a way to raise 2,000 to be able to buy my epic wings.

Do I fly right now and maybe get my big-tauren wings by level 80, or do I not fly, save up the last 1,000 and pray to Elune that I could raise the other 1,000 before I needed to fly in northrend?

Well, I chose to fork over the 1,000 gold for cold weather flying. I jumped into the air and took flight. What a sense of release it was, to finally strech my wings again. However slow they bore me, upon them I was born upward!

I exclaimed in Guild Chat my elation to cries of ‘grats’ and ‘feels good doesn’t it?’. It was then I mentioned that it would feel a lot better if I had my big-tauren wings. They asked me how much I was short and I replied 2K.

This gal HAD 2K she was willing to give me, right then, right there!

On one condition.

I take her with when I ran heroic Sethekk Halls.

This, of course, would require that I complete the quest chain. So, like a good little druid I hustled on over to /hug, pulled up his wonderfully concise flight form quest post, and proceeded to complete everything but the heroic Sethekk Halls in three hours!

We tried to get through Sethekk, we really did. We had myself, lvl 77, Ael a Paladin as our healer at lvl 80, and a level 70 hunter.

We tried, we really did, we tried so hard. We just couldn’t handle the last room before the Raven God. Between mind controlls and fears we just couldn’t do it. Plus it was way past midnight and I kept forgetting I had a pvp trinket and berserk that would both clear fear. But it was late, and we had tried.

We agreed to do this all again on Monday, at 8:30 sharp. Unfortunately poor Ael got hung up at work and, with much trepidation, I assembled a full group of five to go. We tore through that instance in about 30 minutes and, while the mount did not drop, I can now officially say that in the air, I look something like this:

wowscrnshot_112408_221919

Once I hit 80 I’m planning on taking myself and Ael, armed with invisibility potions, and farming for the mount. Most of all, though, I’m thrilled and more than thrilled to finally have my epic wings. And don’t I look snazzy perched in the trees of Crystalsong Forest?

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (5)
    • Rusco
    • November 25th, 2008

    Congrats on 77 and northrend flight! I’m somewhere in between 75 and 76, but I’ll probably reach 80 by the end of this week. :B

    Glad to see you picked up flying even without your epic flight form. Despite the fact you finished the quest fairly soon after, if you hadn’t you still would have leveled faster and gathered quicker than you would have otherwise.

    When I got epic flying, I used the same post by /hug too! I busted my butt to save the money (weeks of dailies) but that was back before 3.0 dropped. Not that I’m complaining, I enjoyed the quest-line and like to see fellow druids go through with it, but did you know you could have trained swift flight form?

    • Tigerfeet
    • November 25th, 2008

    I did know I could have trained it 🙂 I didn’t want to, I wanted to do things properly!

    I very much object to things like warlock mounts and druid epic flight being trainable. I can understand why (needing a group for an old heroic) but honestly it didn’t take the 80 DK that went with me more than 30 minutes to farm enough feathers to reach honored. It’s NOT that hard and it adds a whole lot of depth to the game.

    Plus, I wasn’t sure if I trained the skill, if the quest would still be available and I didn’t want to take that chance.

  1. Bah, I really wanted to save that dorf 😦

    Gratz on your new wings – druid epic flight form is one of the best flying experiences in the game, in my opinion!

    /hug

    • Tigerfeet
    • November 26th, 2008

    Be easy friend dwarf 😉 My antipathy towards the alliance goes something like this, from most reviled to mostly amiable

    Gnome
    Human – Night Elf
    Draeni
    Dwarf

    Ya dwarves don’t usually do me wrong 😉

    And I still feel like a rocket bird, can’t believe how fast I’m flying!

  2. Congrats! 🙂 It’s aboot time!

Comments are closed.
