House of the Rising Cat

DISCLAIMER! The rankings on this list are likely incorrect (as are my comments about them). Please refer to the discussion in the comments attached to this post for more information before you choose your kitty gems! Thank you, and thank you to everyone who pointed out my wrong assumption on Agility vs Strength.

I’d like to fill a request I recieved in my comments for some info on gemming as a kitty! Same deal here as for the Bear gems, I’m not going to cover the epics, but mostly just because the epics aren’t all sorted out and in Wowhead yet.

PS, I just realised the possibility that color theory, which I’ve had drilled into my brain for years now, might not be second-nature to everyone else. Here’s a quick refresher and guide to the multi-color gems:

Primary Colors = Red, Yellow, Blue

Secondary Colors = Purple, Green, Orange

Red + Blue = Purple
Blue + Yellow = Green
Red + Yellow = Orange

Red:

Delicate Scarlet Ruby
+16 Agility

Bright Scarlet Ruby
+32 Attack Power

Fractured Scarlet Ruby
+16 Armor Penetration Rating

Precise Scarlet Ruby
+16 Expertise Rating

Bold Scarlet Ruby
+16 Strength

The first two are very close. Choose one or the other depending on wheather you need more Agility or Attack Power. I prefer to favor agi over AP just because we get so much AP naturally from other items, we don’t usually need to gem for it. The Fractured and Precise Rubies might be more beneficial in PvP, but I wouldn’t count on it beating out agility. Strength? If you REALLY want to, but it’s not necessary.

Blue:

Solid Sky Sapphire
+24 Stamina

Pickings are pretty slim all around for pure-blue gems. The only other options are completely useless to melee. I’d reccomend taking a look at the green or purple sections before settling on a pure stam gem. If you’re main focus is PvP then stam is great, or if you’re dangerously squishy. If you’re specced into 3/3 Predatory instincts you shouldn’t need to worry.

Yellow:

Smooth Autumn’s Glow
+16 Critical Strike Rating

Rigid Autumn’s Glow
+16 Hit Rating

Quick Autumn’s Glow
+16 Haste Rating

If you’re hit-capped (295.2) go for the +Crit in a heartbeat, if you’re not then take the +hit. I don’t care how high your crit rate is, if you can’t hit anything it’s not going to do you a lick of good. Haste rating, does that do anything for us? I still don’t know, maybe it can help you rez that rogue who thought he was so much better than a kitty.

On second thought, leave him lie πŸ˜‰

Purple:

Shifting Twilight Opal
+8 Agility
+12 Stamina

Balanced Twilight Opal
+16 Attack Power
+12 Stamina

Puissant Twilight Opal
+8 Armor Penetration
+12 Stamina

Because Agility is just so important to us. Seriously, you CAN NOT HAVE TOO MUCH AGILITY! (except of course if you can’t hit anything) Purple is the +stam bracket. Everything has +stam. I left out the +strength gems just because strength really is so negligible. Agility will give you crit and AP, AP will just give you AP, the choice is yours. (take the agility)

Green:

Jagged Forest Emerald
+8 Critical Strike Rating
+12 Stamina

Vivid Forest Emerald
+8 Hit Rating
+12 Stamina

Ugh! There’s so many green gems and so few are useful to kitties! These two aren’t in any particular order. If you’re not hitcapped take the Vivid Emerald, if you are, take the Jagged.

Orange:

Deadly Monarch Topaz
+8 Agility
+8 Critical Strike Rating

Glinting Monarch Topaz
+8 Agility
+8 Hit Rating

Pristine Monarch Topaz
+16 Attack Power
+8 Hit Rating

Wicked Monarch Topaz
+16 Attack Power
+8 Critical Strike Rating

Lucent Monarch Topaz
+8 Agility
+9 Resilience Rating

Empowered Monarch Topaz
+16 Attack Power
+8 Resilience Rating

Oh, THERE’S the kitty gems. My list was twice as long before I removed the ones with strength. They would go in the list just above the ones with resilience. I’m sure you’re familiar now with the same old song and dance, grab the +hit gems over the +crit gems if you aren’t hit capped. If you ARE hit capped well, then go nuts! The Lucent and Empowered gems are a nod to the hardcore pvpers.

Prismatic:

Delicate Dragon’s Eye
+27 Agility

Rigid Dragon’s Eye
+27 Hit Rating

Smooth Dragon’s Eye
+27 Critical Strike Rating

Bright Dragon’s Eye
+54 Attack Power

Enchanted Tear
+6 to All Stats

Ok, I know I said I wouldn’t cover epic gems, but these are special. You cannot use a Dragon’s Eye unless you are yourself a Jewelcrafter. I didn’t include them in the bear list because I didn’t want to tease myself and was feeling particurlarly surly at the time. The Enchanted Tear is nice, but ferals have so few stats to stack that there really are better options.

Meta:

Relentless Earthsiege Diamond
+21 Agility
+3% Increased Critical Damage

Requires at least 1 Red Gem
Requires at least 1 Yellow Gem
Requires at least 1 Blue Gem

Chaotic Skyflare Diamond
+21 Critical Strike Rating
+3% Increased Critical Damage

Requires at least 2 Blue Gems

Invigorating Earthsiege Diamond
+42 Attack Power
Sometimes Heal on your Crits

Requires at least 2 Blue Gems
Requires at least 1 Red Gem

Thundering Skyflare Diamond
Chance to Increase Melee/Ranged Attack Speed
Requires at least 1 Red Gem
Requires at least 1 Yellow Gem
Requires at least 1 Blue Gem

Swift Skyflare Diamond
+42 Attack Power
Minor Run Speed Increase

Requires at least 2 Yellow Gems
Requires at least 1 Red Gem

Persistent Earthsiege Diamond
+42 Attack Power
+10% Reduction in Stun Duration

Requires at least 2 Yellow Gems
Requires at least 1 Blue Gem

Impassive Skyflare Diamond
+21 Critical Strike Rating
+10% Reduction in Fear Duration

Requires at least 2 Red Gems
Requires at least 1 Blue Gem

Are you salivating yet? Do you need a napkin? Here, take your time, I can wait πŸ™‚

I can’t stress enough how amazingly awesome the Meta gem choices are this time around! Just wonderful.

Ok, the Chaotic Skyflare is a close second to the Relentless Earthsiege. If you can’t get the top one, get the second. If you’re still having trouble staying alive in AoE effects pick up and Invigorating Earthsiege, but I’d use that one more for PvP. The Thundering Skyflare is awesome, it would be even more awesome if it was a permanent buff instead of an on-proc effect. Either way, it will definitely contribute to your DPS.

The Swift Skyflare, Persistent Earthsiege, and Impassive Skyflare are most useful for PvP. Everyone hates a stunlock, nobody wants to burn Berserk just to break a fear, and getting into range is still obnoxious. Pick your flavor for those, I would probably go for the Crit Strike and Fear Reduction personally if I were PvPing.

——

And that’s all folks for the kitty gems! Quite a lot to choose from and a good deal of customizeability. I can see two different kitties, equally effective but gemmed in completely different ways. That, my friends, is just pure awesome!

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (7)
    • Faerun
    • December 12th, 2008

    Not trying to be confrontational, but according to Toskk you want to choose +str gems (or +ap gems maybe) over +agi gems until you have in the range of 11k AP (before savaqe roar). You can check out his reasoning here:

    http://druid.wikispaces.com/ToskksDPSGearMethod#toc2

  1. These are awesome! Thanks!

    Those Meta-Gems are so sweeeeeeeet. I can barely choose just one. ^_^

    • Tigerfeet
    • December 12th, 2008

    Faerun – Thank you for the link. I don’t want you to ever be worried about sounding confrontational, as long as you aren’t beating me about the head and telling me what an idiot I am, I am ALWAYS open to constructive criticism!

    I’m waiting with baited breath, with my eye on the druid wiki for WotLK updates, I remember that chart back before I was recruited to tank in BC. I haven’t yet sat down and actually tried to crunch numbers.

    11k AP though? Hmmmmmm, I don’t think I’m sporting that. I remember before you could get to the proper AP without even trying, I’m thinking perhaps it’s changed. Thank you very much for reminding me, I’ll make sure to sit down, dust off my calculator, and work on a more aaaah…. intricate… pointed gemming strategy. πŸ™‚

    • Faerun
    • December 12th, 2008

    It’s funny because right after I finished posting my previous comment I found a druid over on EJ that said he was already at the AP levels Toskk was talking about:

    http://elitistjerks.com/f73/t37382-cat_dps_rotation/p6/#post1010726

    Also, I was noticing that in pre-naxx gear in Rawr it was also telling me that 10 str/15 sta (8 agi socket bonus) was worth more than a 20 str gem (no socket bonus) for kitty. So maybe it’s not as cut and dry as all that.

    Thanks for the list though!

    • Wintermane
    • December 12th, 2008

    Just wanted to chime in with Faerun and note that for pure cat DPS, strength is where it’s at. I’ve been gemming entirely for strength and have been very pleased with my DPS, especially when raid-buffs are considered, the AP contribution of strength is pretty sick.

    • Tigerfeet
    • December 12th, 2008

    Wintermane, You don’t have any WWS parses I could look at do you? or… I can browse those by class can’t I? I’m still learning how to best use those.

    Strength though, that’d make a majority of damage come from white attacks, right? Ok… I’m thinking as I’m writing here so sorry if it’s not making much sense. In the past, when I’ve dps’d and been gemmed for agility and crit I was able to get more dps by finishing with a 5 CP Ferocious Bite. When I switched to using Rip I noticed about a 100point drop in dps.

    If I were gemmed for strength then, I would’ve outputted a lot more white damage, my FB would’ve been a lot less effective (reduced crit, right?) and Rip would’ve been the most beneficial again.

    Am I thinking this through correctly? Please let me know! πŸ˜€

  2. From what I can tell, FB is no good. The actual dps out put makes it more beneficial to do Rip. I just try to stay at 40% crit, then get as much ap as I can. It seems to work great, I do about 1.5k dps on bosses and I’m a little below naxx 10 man geared.

Comments are closed.
