Behold… Tha POWAH!

Of tha Sowah…

Kraut that is!

Sizzling merrily in a pan along with a ponderous length of kilbasa, imparting deliciously wonderous flavors to an already-seasoned sausage, was my dinner.

Raid time was imminent. Invites were being handed out at 6:30 in preparation for a first pull at 7pm sharp, I was in danger of being late. Between the cold, uncaring gaze of mother nature and a looming holiday party I was, indeed, in very mortal danger of being late. I arrived home amid blowing winds and drifting snow to find Mr Tigerfeet busy at the stove, counters cleaned and dinner ready to be prepared.

I eyed the green can, full of dubiously fermented cabbage with a somewhat jaundiced eye. The smell that wafted forth from within wasn’t necessarily noxious, but it didn’t leave me expecting the delicious treat that was to follow.

I hustled, upstairs and down, flew through my negligible tidying chores to get ready for the excitement of tonight. It was Tuesday, the first raid night of the 3-day raiding week. I would be tanking under Mel, the main raid leader. If there was any time to show my mettle, adaptability, and skill, this was it.

Up and down, up and down. Up to craft a belt, down to stir the frying pan. Up to accept a raid invite, and down to dish up dinner. A slow, expectant smile graced the lips of my beloved as he held towards me a fork laden with the gently steaming limp, yet crunchy vegetable. I was hesitant, but took a bite, and soon found myself enthralled.

I grabbed a plate, sliced off a generous portion of the kilbasa and watched as Atrides spooned on what, at the time, seemed like an obscene amount of sauerkraut. The hour was getting late, however, and naxxramas was waiting so up again I dashed with fork and knife and plate of kraut in hand.

I sliced the sausage, and nibbled the kraut as we worked our way through throngs of spiders. Finally, as we paused for a breif explanation on the mechanics of Anub’Rekhan, something wonderful happened.

I heaped my fork with kraut then took a slice of kilbasa. With meat perched ponderously on a mounded pile of cabbage I tasted, and found myself rocked with flavor. The sweet spiciness of the sausage was the perfect counterpoint to the tart and tangy kraut. I was hooked, addicted, I couldn’t get enough!

Before I knew it Anub’Rekhan was pulled. I used him as a rage battery, auto attacking as I loaded another fork with this magical mixture, hitherto undiscovered by me. He summoned an add, my fingers were sticky! A quick wipe on the napkin as the eight-legged horror shambled towards me and the game was on.

Lacerate, lacerate, mangle, maul, lacerate, demoralizing roar, barkskin, lacerate, mangle, maul maul maul!

The add was dead and the main tank was kiting the massive arachnid across the room. Another stolen moment and my fork was again full of culinary extacy.

And so my Tuesday night of raiding went, filled with intense concentration while my attention was secretly divided between being the meat shield for my friends, and sampling what has become my new favorite food.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (10)
  1. The power of kraut compels you! πŸ™‚ If it makes any difference, I didn’t notice any change in your ability to tank. You successfully multi tasked eating and tanking, a feat which few can claim!

    Gotta hit the grocery store now and pick up some sausages…. thanks Tiger!

  2. Just so you know, I got a fatigue-death while reading this. Set myself to auto-pilot and alt-tabbed….. started reading, forgot about the auto-fly, and was dead when I tabbed back. Doh.

    You owe me my 25% repair bill. =)

    • Tigerfeet
    • December 17th, 2008

    *GASP!*

    Blame the kraut Karthis, not its messenger! πŸ˜‰

    I’m glad you ‘enjoyed’ the post πŸ˜›

    • Jeursey
    • December 17th, 2008

    Now I’m hungry… Next time, I suggest that you add a splash of white wine to your sauerkraut, and eat with spicy beef goulash and crispy roast potatoes. Maybe you’d better not try it on a raid night!

  3. Ye gods, you’e fallen to the lure of Kilbasa too!? Khi loves that stuff too though I’ve managed to stave off the purchase of Saurkraut so far!

    I often end up finishing my dinner whilst we’re clearing the first set of trash, too – nomchompmunch *poke at grid a couple times* nomchompmunch πŸ™‚

    /hug

    • Lithios
    • December 18th, 2008

    i know the topic is late but thx, i just got my “puppy staff” yesterday
    WOW with savage roar i know have 10k AP… and i just wanted to thank you for showing me where i get it.

    mr.tigerfeet is a luckyguy (married wink)

    • Tigerfeet
    • December 18th, 2008

    Aurik – Growing up, kilbasa was common, but we always had it with mustard. Sauerkraut was an unknown quantity, hence my total surprise tuesday with the deliciousness of the dish!

    Lithios – Hurrah for puppy staff! Now go whoop up on Heigan the Unclean for your big-dog staff! Actually, there’s the Staff of the Plague Beast and Staff of the Plague Hound, they’re very similar, one is for bears and the other is for cats. The bear one drops from Heigan but I can’t say offhand where the kitty one drops. I reccomend checking WoWhead. And congratulations!

    • Willowbear
    • December 18th, 2008

    Puppy staff? Vat is zis puppy staff you speak of?

  4. Beast = Bears; Hound = Kitty ^_^

    Kitty one drops from Kel’thuzad 10-man… and the super duper feral staff (until the AP power change) appropriately named “The Journey’s End” drops from 25-man Kel’thuzad.

    … and sauerkraut was a mainstay while I was growing up (half the family is German/Polish) but I haven’t eaten it in about 25 years… I always hated it, but I wonder what my ‘adult’ palate would think of it…

    • Tigerfeet
    • December 19th, 2008

    Willobear – My previous post talks about my new ‘puppy staff’ πŸ˜€ link is here: https://secretagentcat.wordpress.com/2008/12/15/just-five-more-minutes-mom/

    Basically, it’s a very nice feral staff called the Staff of Trickery that drops off the final boss in Heroic Violet Hold. Now that I think of it though, since it’s got a doggy face and is a staff of TRICKERY wouldn’t that make it a jackal staff?

    eh, details!

Comments are closed.
