Holy Moly Mother of Milk!

I think I’m in love….

Anub’Rekhan, Faerlina, Maexxna, Noth, Heigan, and Loatheb… DOWN!

And we finished ten minutes early no less! (but mostly because I, and three others weren’t up to going past raid time on a weeknight)

So, that’s two wings, one night, with two more night ahead of us. Needless to say, NOW I know why people call Naxx easymode. I find it odd that the 25-man version is measurably easier than the 10-man. Perhaps that’s on purpose, and there’s a number of reasons for this, here’s my thoughts on the subject.

Naxx is an introductory raid, no two ways about it. It’s supposed to be easy, but if the 25-man versions are easier than the 10-man versions that makes me scratch my head a bit.

Perhaps, since better gear drops in heroic as opposed to normal, Blizzard is hoping we’ll all be farming heroic gear one way or another so that the sticker shock we see (hopefully) when stepping into Ulduar isn’t so massive. Lots of people are noticing how easy Naxx is and a lot of people don’t like it. I think most people, however, realise what Naxx is designed to be and have faith that Blizz will deliver the challenge and the gear checks that we desire in the future.

I’m equally sure that Blizz is trying to avoid some of the problems that arose when guilds reached 70 and tried to step into Kara, or when guilds cleared BT and tried to step into Sunwell. To start Kara you definitely needed a minimum set of stats, only obtainable by farming heroics and grinding for crafted items. Sunwell, likewise, was tuned for guilds that had Black Temple on farm for a month or more. You were expected to have, if not a full set, then damn near close to a full set of tier 6 when you went in there, and it was designed to be challenging.

My prediction is we’ll see a little bit of the same when it comes to Ulduar. I believe Ulduar will be quite challenging and will also require a minimum level of gear. I’ve heard mention of a blue post saying something along the lines that a guild who’s been diligently farming the 25-man version of Naxx should be well-prepared for Ulduar.

This implies (to me at least) that a smaller guild who only has access to 10-man versions and maybe a heroic pug now and again, should have the minimum resources to be successful.Β  This to me makes sense. If you’ve got a group of quality players who are intelligent and skilled, but through no fault of their own only have gear obtainable through the ten-man versions, they should still be able to conquer the challenges presented in the next ‘tier’ of raiding. It won’t be easy, by any streach of the imagination, but it should be possible.

Larger guilds then, since they’ve had a chance to be farming 25-man content, should have a slightly easier time of it. Or not, actually. There’s every possibility that Blizz will tune the 10-man version with 10-man naxx upgrades in mind and the 25-man version with the 25-man upgrades in mind. That would go a long way to making both normal and heroic versions an equal challenge no matter what size guild you happen to run with.

That would also allow for a respectable division of skill. If you blew through heroic Naxx and got all your shiney upgrades, but lacked the skill to properly execute a particular fight, you’ll run into trouble come 25-man Ulduar. In which case it would make sense for said player to take a step back and work on the 10-man version instead. Their increased item level should give them a bit of an edge in normal content, thus allowing them room to accomodate their learning curve.

English here, ok. Doing a 10-man (Ulduar) with 25-man armor (from Naxx), for a less-skilled player, will soften the blow of Ulduar’s difficulty.

Now, of course, this is all conjecture on my part, but I think it makes a lot of sense.

Here’s some of the highlights from last night’s raid:

DK tank on Anub’Rekhan had an unfortunately fatal run-in with some geometry and died. I got to MT the rest of the fight (for the first time ever, no doubt) and was rewarded with a shiney pair of Dawnwalkers!

When we killed Faerlina we accidentally earned Heroic: Momma Said Knock You Out! We had run in expecting similar mechanics to the 10-man version. When she enrages, kill a worshiper and she’ll cool off. Well, she enraged, we killed one, nothing, we killed another, DK main tank went down (something about being parry-gibbed just as Bone Barrier wore off), Warrior tank picked up, we killed yet ANOTHER, then we just said screw it, killed all the other adds and finished off the widow. Turns out there’s some hullabaloo about mind-controlling the adds and dispelling her enrage or some such. After last night though, why bother? In a 25-man encounter you’re going to be running with enough tanks that even if you loose 2 you should be able to make it through the fight. That’s an easy achievement on 25-man. (different story with only 10 people)

From her I made off like a bandit, netting both Heritage (rolled a 99 against 3 other tanks), and an Idol of Worship for offspec on the grounds I would be the only druid present (we actually had two others there!) who would get any amount of use out of it.

And THEN! Once I equipped the Idol, I found myself glowing and flashing with a new Superior title! I tell ya, I made out like a bandit, and feel a little guilty about it to boot. For the rest of the week I’m going to try to abstain from rolling on much of anything, though of Origin of Nightmares drops for us tonight I might not be able to contain myself.

Needless to say, we’re back to raiding, we’re doing it with 25 people, and I couldn’t be happier. Stay tuned for more Tiger Tails πŸ˜‰

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (9)
  1. Grats on the nice raiding and the stuff. πŸ™‚ A quick point, just in case you didn’t know – idol of worship currently is broken and does nothing at all. Hopefully it’ll be fixed soon.

  2. Ah, thanks Kal, that makes sense.

  3. OOOOOO… grat on shinies! Nom nom nom! ^_^

    • Tigerfeet
    • January 8th, 2009

    does nothing? That’s hilarious xD It gave me a superior achievement! Well… ok, that’s rather LESS useful than it’s tooltip implies. But yea, thanks for the head’s-up. I’ll keep using my Idol of Terror as kitty instead.

  4. Hey, Tigerfeet, I don’t think that’s what he means. ^-^ I heard about rip not affecting damage at all because it’s actually broken. Once it is fixed, then it “should” be the best cat dps idol pre-naxx available.

    • Tigerfeet
    • January 8th, 2009

    …. so… the skill rip doesn’t work, and by proxy the idol is useless?

    Or… rip works ok, but the idol is not adding to damage?

    I’m confused 😦

  5. Rip works fine.

    The idol doesn’t improve rip’s damage at all. If you don’t have the idol, rip’s ticks will do X. If you do have the idol, rip’s ticks will do X. It’s easy enough to test.

    So yeah, the idol (much like the goggles) does nothing. When it is fixed it’ll be the best dps idol out there, but for now it’s as good as having nothing in the slot πŸ™‚

  6. My bad. The skill rip works fine, it’s just the idol that doesn’t do anything. It’s like not even having one.

    • Tigerfeet
    • January 8th, 2009

    aaaaaaah ok, yeah that’s what I thought. I was trying to make a joke… saying that the idol gave me the ‘Superior’ achievement so it doesn’t do ‘nothing’, just not what it’s tooltip says.

    I’ve been watching too much of The Big Bang Theory, my jokes are getting esoteric and my vocabulary needlessly diverse >_< /blush.

Comments are closed.
