Archive for February 13th, 2009

In Soviet Azeroth, Dragon Loots YOU!

So yeah, after an outstanding week in Naxx and a relatively solid execution of Malygos (my inattention non-withstanding), we wrapped up the week with something a little more challenging.

Sartharion with 3 drakes up. Or, Sarth 3D

*adjusts snazzy red/blue 3D glasses* Now in TIGER-VISION! oOOOoooooOO!

We didn’t get 3D… we didn’t get 2D either, but I know we’ve got the gear for it.

One of our new shamans (nick-named Wang) has some VERY good ideas about how to handle training people to be able to do all the things necessary to win this fight. Don’t stand in void zones, dodge the fire walls, if you aggro an ember drag it to the tank, etc.

Mmmmm, I’m afraid I don’t have much to report though, I was tanking embers, and it sucked, but each time I got better at it so I feel it’s a job I can do. It’s nice to know that there’s 2 other tanks running around back there. One is tanking the dragons, and the other is assigned to tank the whelps, and then the acolytes, so I know they won’t be working on embers either but it’s nice to have them there 🙂

In other news, I finally did get that Moroccan Lamb recipe I’ve been yowling about. I’ll leave it with you all before taking my leave for love-related weekend fun 🙂

Moroccan Lamb.

2 tablespoons olive oil
4 lamb shanks, medium sized
2 medium onions, chopped
2 teaspoons finely grated or chopped fresh ginger
2 – 3 cloves garlic, crushed (1 teaspoon)
2 small chillies, chopped, seeds removed
2 teaspoons ground cumin
2 teaspoons ground coriander
2 teaspoons paprika
2 teaspoons cinnamon
salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
2 cups cooked chickpeas (canned are fine)
3 large tomatoes, chopped
3 large carrots, chopped finely
1 cup dried apricots
2 tablespoons Chelsea Dark Cane Sugar

To serve
1 cup blanched almonds, chopped
1/2 cup chopped fresh coriander

Preheat oven to 300°F.

Heat oil in a large casserole dish and brown the lamb shanks all over. Remove and set aside. Add the onions and cook until softened. Return the lamb to the casserole. Add the ginger, garlic and chilli plus the spices, salt and freshly ground black pepper and chickpeas. Cover with about 3 1/2 cups water. Cover the dish and bake for 2 hours. Add the tomatoes, carrot, apricots and dark cane sugar. Cook covered for a further 45 minutes until the lamb is golden brown and tender.

Scatter the almonds and coriander over and serve with mash or couscous.