I Hate You So Hard!

My husband is a guild leader. His guild is not <Unemployed>. I do not have any kind of presence in his guild apart from a smattering of alts and some amiable vent-chatter. When we left our original guild on Hydraxis, I moved to <Unemployed>, and he resurrected our old guild from Scilla.

I’m actually asked, rather often, why we don’t guild together. We’re married right? We love each other, we live together, we play WoW together! Why would we ever not want to guild together?

Well, part of it is that we’re together for so much, but a larger part is that we both want different things out of a game. We’re both competitive and enjoy raiding. Being in a guild of friendly and helpful people with whom I enjoy spending time is important to me.

It’s not, however, important to him. He runs his guild with a very heavy ‘get stuff done!’ mentality. Granted, they certainly get stuff done. Pre-BC they cleared out T4 within 2 months of forming (their members were by and large fresh 70s too). They’ve also been getting a lot of attention from some of the top guilds on our server. He networks, and agressively builds his ranks and hones his raiding team into a finely-tooled machine of raiding destruction.

In his words, “We’re not here to make friends, we’re here to kill bosses.”

He LOVES it. I, however, do not. That attitude can attract some rather rough personality types. I’m sure you know the kind, arrogant, egotistical, prone to talking out their rear and generally rubbing everyone the wrong way.

Well, rubbing ME the wrong way at least. I’ve got a number of friends in his guild, which is why I have my alts stationed there and I hang around in vent. There is one person, however, that I just can’t stand.

He’s heavy-handed, domineering, condescending, bigoted, and nurtures a completely unfounded hatred of all things druid. Hate hate hate! OOOOH I hate you! Stop telling me how much bears suck, stop telling me about how all bears should /uninstall, just stop stop STOP!

Ok, got that out of my system, now…

<Unemployed> also has some great PR policies. I ran in a group with this fellow yesterday. We did Heroic Culling of Stratholme. I got to come along as DPS. Predictably, I was bottom of the charts. I pulled about 1,600, the tank did about 1,500, and I generally tried to keep a low profile lest he decide to start complaining about kitty druids as well as bears. (I was cat-geared, bear-specced, hence the abysmal numbers)

Oh yeah, that PR policy. Well, it’s in our rules that we don’t expect everyone to like everybody else. It’s not going to happen, and it’s not realistic to expect it to happen. I like to pride myself on having a wide range of tolerance. If someone pisses me off I try to imagine where they’re coming from and at least try to get along. You don’t have to like someone, but you do have to treat them with respect.

Towards the end of the run, after gritting my teeth for ~ 20 minutes, resisting the urge to tell him exactly what I thought of his attitude, we killed the optional boss.

We made the timer.

The mout dropped.

We rolled.

I won.

Ok, sure, it was just the favor of the RNG, but it sure felt like someone was leaning down and patting my head for being such a good sport. I then proceeded to spend the rest of the day prancing around on my VERY FIRST flying mount!

I’m still waiting for that golden opportunity to come along though, where I’m tanking, and this fellow is in my group, and he gets to see first-hand that I am, indeed, worth a damn.

So, sir, I bite my thumb at you.

bring it!

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (3)
  1. w00t! Go Tiger! ^_^

    • BeerCow
    • February 19th, 2009

    Whenever someone is driving waaaay too fast weaving in and out of traffic and cuts me off, I don’t yell at them, or flip them off, I just think to myself: “They probably have to take a shit.”

    In reality, they probably don’t. But if I did, I’d be driving like that, too. Although I’ve also been known to report aggressive drivers to the Highway Patrol.

    But yeah, it’s those kinds of things that get me through life. If only I had a car for every driver I’ve not yelled at…

    • annoyed
    • February 19th, 2009

    I would ten to think that he may have a little”BEAR ENVY”. Druids are an awesome class and he is probably jealous for not rolling one.

Comments are closed.
