Stay On Target…

SCREEEEEEEEECH!

Did we have fun? I had fun. Nice breather. It feels good to give yourself permission to be depressed and self-centered once in a while, to realise that you don’t really have to put on a happy face when really all you want to do is whine and moan about how unfair the world is.

I did some raiding, some instancing, quite a lot of driving around, entered into a new business contract, got some info about farming internships and I’ve been nurturing my Pandora account.

What’s Pandora?

Just the most awesome-fun-time-free-LEGAL music player online! I’ve gotten a bit bored with the music I have and I wanted to branch out some more and the local radio stations only offered more rock (of which I was already getting tired of) and country (there’s only so many times I can listen to old-timey yodeling about how your truck broke down and your girl left with your best friend before I want to punch you in the face…)

So I found Pandora.

Here’s how it works. You plug in a song or an artist. Then you start getting musical jewels offered up to you for your perusal. I imagine the engine as housing some kind of small gremlin whose sole purpose is to pour over thousands and thousands of songs, searching diligently for that one small jewel that will make me quiver with ecstasy.

You can give any particular song offered up a ‘thumbs up’ or a ‘thumbs down’ depending on your preference. If it plays something you DON’T like, well, it will apologise and offer something it hopes is better.

Like any good personal music gremlin-butler should.

Eventually songs will start repeating themselves and might get a bit banal, but you can simply tell it to not play a certain song for a month, thereby quashing any danger of mindless repitition.

Ohhhh, come now, did you think I’d tell you about this and NOT post a link to the playlist I built?

Silly you.

http://www.pandora.com/?sc=sh68500326125284969

I’m a bit nervous abut sharing it actually. The songs that will play are completely random, not all of them have been approved by moi, and it kind of feels like I’m standing in front of you all completely naked. Sharing a Pandora list isn’t like saying “I’m listening to this this and THIS”, it’s more like offering up a haystack of things and letting you root through my junk drawer. You might find my diary full of my most brilliant writing or you might come upon some un-folded underwear

with holes.

So, enjoy, and I urge you to try assembling your own Pandora ‘playlist’.

If you do, I would like to see! er… listen, that is.

PS – the title of this post didn’t really have anything to do with its actual content, d’oh.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (6)
  1. DARN IT! I knew I shouldn’t have gotten my hopes up.

    This is along the lines of sites like Hulu, and it is inaccessible outside of the USA.

    And I was just thinking last night that I’d really like to get exposed to some new music.

    Tiger, you’re such a tease!

  2. “We are deeply, deeply sorry to say that due to licensing constraints, we can no longer allow access to Pandora for listeners located outside of the U.S.”

    No love for the Aussies 😥

    We’ll just have to imagine it being really embarrising. lol.

    Just wondering, would you be interested in a link exchange with my blog? Check it out and let me know 🙂

    Ithiel
    WoWFailBlog.com

    • Tigerfeet
    • March 10th, 2009

    Boooooo! I’m so sorry to all you international-types, ugh that sucks!

    Tell ya what, I’ll post the first ten songs that roll up for me today, complete with youtube links so y’all can listen.

    Ithiel – sure why not, and omg your tag cloud is massively sexy!

  3. Welcome back. Was the title perhaps because you were bullseye’ing (word?) womprats in your T16 back home? Sometimes that has been known to happen.

    ❤ Pandora… have it on my iPhone (yes, there is an app for that). Unfortunately, I listen to most of my music at work and they stick me in the basement which is like the black hole of the wireless universe… I get nada down here 😦

    • Tigerfeet
    • March 10th, 2009

    Watch out for those ATATs >_>

  4. Heya Tiger,

    Thanks for the link. I’ve added it to WFB.
    Check it out here: http://www.wowfailblog.com/links/

    It’s on the links page, as well as the list in the sidebar 🙂

    Ithiel
    WoWFailBlog.com

Comments are closed.
