How To Not Be Jealous

Hello, my name is Tigerfeet, and I have a Jealousy Problem.

The art of being happy for someone when they have something I do not and (more importantly) desperately want is something that is constantly eluding me. Here’s some things that I’ve noticed with my Jealousy Problem, and if you have one too I’m sure you’ll know what I’m talking about.

When you really want something it will pop up everywhere, and all at once. You will see others with it, all they will do is talk about it. It will get to the point where you feel the world is out to get you and make you feel like shatt.

So, step one.

Remind yourself the world is NOT out to get you. It’s not, really, it just feels that way sometimes.

Step two.

Congratulate the person who has something you don’t. I don’t care how much it hurts. They have gotten a blessing. It doesn’t matter if it’s a shiney new epic, a rare-drop mount, or anything else.

Step three

DO NOT try to console yourself by thinking of how much fun you’ll have without that thing you want. It doesn’t work, and it just makes you feel bitter.

Step four

Sometimes a little QQ is ok. Just try not to make it obsessive (still struggling with this one).

Step five

Sometimes a change of scenery is in order. Wiped on Sarth 3D again? Can’t stand to look at the other guilds with their Violet Drakes flapping around Dalaran? Take some time off, go level an alt or just do your best to avoid Dalaran in general.

Step six

Don’t despair. Instead of thinking about how you’ll never get that thing you want, instead sit down and write a list of things you can do to make it happen.

All these things help.

How do you deal with being jealous?

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (4)
  1. I put on an over-the-top pouty display. This satisfies my need to QQ a bit, lets people know I’m disappointed, but not actually *angry* and gets a laugh from everyone.

    Works for me for the most part. I still don’t have my #$%^$#@$%^ blue drake from hUP, though.

    Stupid drake.

  2. I take it out on my boyfriend. :S I am not a nice person.

  3. @ Elleiras: I do that too. So much so that I wrote a “public apology” post to himon my blog promising that I will try to do better in the future at seperating ‘WoW things that make me mad’ from ‘relationship things that make me mad’

    I’m trying 🙂

    • Tigerfeet
    • March 25th, 2009

    Both Atrides and myself are guilty of using each other as verbal punching bags to vent on. I think we both just treat it as part of the territory. Everyone needs someone to vent to and as long as the ventee knows that the venter isn’t actually mad at the ventee things are usually just fine 🙂

    Of course, there’ve been times when my foul mood from WoW has spilled over to sniping and being nasty out of game, so… yeah.

Comments are closed.
