An Actual Project? Hold Onto Your Fur!

My good buddy Brajana told me a week or so ago that she’d been tapped by the folks over at World of Matticus to be part of a new addon blog.

After I got over my initial bout of jealousy and realised that no, I don’t have the time or expertise to devote to any kind of project like that, I expressed my very sincere congratulations and sat back to eagerly await the blog’s debut.

At first blush, NoStockUi looks like it’s shaping up to be a wonderful resource. I’ve already learned of a couple new addons I might like to try out and my resolve to run addon-light is being tested to its limit.

Then I ran into Matticus’s HUD post.

I am very dissapointed. Really, I think you could have done much better sir. This post amouts to little more than posting links to 4 different HUD systems and saying “These are HUDs, they do stuff”.

Well, it’s ok, I forgive you. I realise that launching a new site is difficult work, made even more difficult by expectations of content out of the gate.

So, I’ve whined to Brajana about it, and, as whining without action is just obnoxious, I’m going to put my money where my mouth is and attempt a 4-part analysis of the different HUD displays you mentioned in that post.

I’m no expert, and code scares me. I doubt I would have anything to add to your project in the long-run, but I do love my HUD mods something awful and I’ve used all 4 of those mentioned in the past. This is a project I believe I can complete in a thorough and aesthetically pleasing manner.

Ideally, it should take about a month. I will try to spend a week with each HUD mod listed and post the results on the weekend.

Wish me luck!

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (6)
  1. I look forward to your reviews! I’ve never used HUDs before, not for any particular reason though.

    But please don’t hate the whole site just because of that one post! After all, it’s the VERY first post on that blog… and how fair is it to judge a blog by its first post? 🙂 At least go back just to read MY posts! I promise I won’t skimp on them!

    • Tigerfeet
    • March 31st, 2009

    Oh! I didn’t mean to imply that I didn’t like any of the site because of that one post! I’m sorry!

    I think it’s a great site and I can’t wait to see what further you all have planned! From what I’ve seen so far that’s the only post that looks like it’s severely lacking, especially compared to the other posts. (which are great)

  2. That’s the exact intent of what I was doing. In a nutshell, I’ve shown people four different HuDs and what they look like in combat situations. That’s it. No analysis, no opinion. “Here are all the HuDs available. Here’s when you can download them. Here’s what they actually look like.”

    Because in doing so, I leave myself open later on in the future for posts that will dive deeper into it. I’ve learned that when writing posts, you can go “wide” or you can go “deep”. Going wide means skimming the surface. Going deep means going extremely in depth into a narrow topic.

    But don’t worry, we’re just getting started.

    And you know what? It’s encouraged at least person to take the time to go through each HuD and provide their opinion and analysis who I can link to in the future ;).

    Your feedback is greatly appreciated!

    • Tigerfeet
    • March 31st, 2009

    Mat – I think… I’m chafing at just how broad your assesments were. You mentioned a range finder on MetaHud I believe it was, but not on IceHud, which I know has one, and looks are very deceiving, I know many of those HuDs have a vast array of skin modes you can choose from, some of which even mimic their competitors, but you never mentioned it.

    Maybe if you’d put a caveat that this is what they look like and what they do ‘out of the box’ I might feel your wide post was a little more accurate.

    I’m sorry if I’ve come off sounding combatative or insulting, challenging posts like the one above really aren’t in my style unless I’m ranting at the PTBs (Powers That Be) in general.
    /fret

  3. Tiger – Don’t. I should not be held to a different standard than anyone else. Some people liked the post because it introduced them to some of the HuDs that exist in game. Others, like yourself, believe I didn’t go far enough. Don’t apologize for sounding combative or insulting because that’s what you’re doing. You’re challenging me to do something better because you think I did a bad job. Yeah, I did do a bad job. I screwed up. I didn’t do it justice. I completely forgot to mention the range finders on Ice Hud. I made a whole lot of other mistakes as well.

    You are who you are. Your style is whatever you make it out to be. I’ve blogged for nearly two years now and I keep forgetting how high the blogging bar is.

    No Stock is inspired by Smashing Magazine (www.smashingmagazine.com). When you get a chance, do check it out. Because that’s the style I’m aiming for.

  4. Luck! Also, thanks for pointing me to NoStock, it’s a pretty cool little site. I’m a little bit of an achievement junkie already, but even I’ve managed to find some neat stuff there.

Comments are closed.
