Dip’n Mah Toes

I’m touching into UI design.

I’m not certain I have the know-how to make an entire UI compilation, but I have been working on artwork for Btex.

My current UI, with Snazzy Artwork!

My current UI, with Snazzy Artwork!

Yes, that’s how excited about the new artwork I am, I went and made UI art to reflect the forms I intend to use, so that I can look at them even when I’m running around all ugly and wyvern-faced.

Here’s a preview of the Night Elf version:

Click for full-size

I’ve also got a shaman version made, but I’m not entirely happy with it. I had trouble finding the totems in WoW Model Viewer so I initially used elemental spirits instead.

Then I couldn’t read my chat text over the top of mr fire-pants.

Then I noticed the smoke I’d put in was way too dark and I needed to re-do it but I was damn tired and re-painting smoke was not something I had the mental capacity to do at that point.

So it’s still waiting to be done.

I’d also like to note that I don’t use a mac by choice, they make me, at work.

I really REALLY like this UI by the way. It’s a lot more de-cluttered than it was before. My raid frames are in the lower right and omen shows up right on top of the bear. My Rogue Power bars are front and center, where Omen used to be, and the only issue is that my DBM warnings bars now pop up right on top of my rotation bars, being distracting and obnoxious.

I’ll get around to moving those, eventually.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (18)
    • Invi
    • July 1st, 2009

    -insert subliminals here-
    You want to make a White NE druid version of that UI…

    And tell me how to install it. It’s hawt.

    I just found your blog today, and it is pretty awesome. Going to have to bookmark it.

  1. I would love to have the skills to work on something like that.
    My UI is pretty simple, and I avoid using a lot of addons, just to avoid any kind of performance issue.
    I do wish i could play around with it a bit more, even picking up a few addons that I know work great – I just dont have time to set it up… my experience with Grid for example was awful.
    But I should work on some improvements, maybe that shaman UI you’re working on can be of interest…. hehe.

  2. Nerf work filters. šŸ˜¦

    • wintersdark
    • July 1st, 2009

    Pretty šŸ™‚ My UI is nearly identical, except I use Squeenix to make my minimap square, I don’t use any background in the lower area rather just have it show through to gameplay and I don’t use any unit frames at all.

    That last part was hard, it was very, very difficult to get used to playing without unit frames, but with IceHUD you don’t need them. I highly recommend getting used to it; greatly reduces screen clutter. IceHUD can show you everything you need with a little configuration after all.

    I do like the background, though, and am contemplating going that way… though, nice as the models are, I’d rather not have them. I prefer as minimal a UI as possible.

    • Pabst
    • July 1st, 2009

    What’s the secret to getting RPB’s to work? Mine have been freaking out since the last patch? Thanks!!!!!

    • Tigerfeet
    • July 1st, 2009

    Invi – I have plans for both a Tauren and Night Elf ‘polar’ version, featuring the white models. My largest problem is having a light background, as I personally prefer all my information against a darker background, but rest assured, I am planning for it šŸ™‚

    Wang – my own personal preference is to run as light as possible, the hardest new addon to get was Bartender, not because it doesn’t work awesomely (it does) but because if I have to go with no addons my buttons will be in different places.

    Wintersdark – I used to use only Icehud, had it showing target buffs and debuffs, even Target of Target information, but the center of my screen became way too cluttered. Once I dropped myself from raid on accident while I was scrambling to target a drake on a Sarth 3D attempt. So, I’ve got my icehud set up to show the bare minimum that I need to have central, my health/energy, and that of my target. Buff/debuff information, and Target of Target info, I like to keep pushed out of the way, but still visible.

    Pabst – I don’t know if this works on live, it worked perfectly when I did it on the PTR though, so it’s worth a shot.
    If you want to track other’s debuffs… I’ll use mangle and trauma as an example.

    In the debuffs category put in ‘Mangle (Bear)’ and ‘Mangle (Cat)’, then disable them. In the others’ debuffs category put in ‘Mangle (Bear)’, ‘Mangle (Cat)’, and ‘Trauma’. It worked perfectly, I also do that for Faerie Fire and Faerie Fire (Feral)

      • Invi
      • July 1st, 2009

      That’s pretty awesome. Maybe a dark blue background or something? It’d still look pretty cold.

  3. Looks great. Have you considered creating a skin for a UI compelation like http://www.taeoui.com/?

    • Pugnacious Priest
    • July 1st, 2009

    Awesome idea – I don’t like some of those Ui’s with all the blank space – makes it more asthetically pleasing šŸ™‚

    • Tigerfeet
    • July 1st, 2009

    Razorbax – I’d like to do a compilation like that, but I really don’t know how. I’m a very visual person and any thought of coding usually sends me running in terror. (apart from the 3 weeks I tried to teach myself C++, but we shan’t speak of such dark times)

    For now, I’ll stick with artwork.

  4. The UI I mentioned supports skins, so it would probably be easy to implement.
    http://www.taeoui.com/blog/polymorphic-skins/

    I am only mentioning this because I plan to use the UI and I really like your skins….;)

      • Tigerfeet
      • July 2nd, 2009

      Ooooooh, ok, I think I misunderstood your original question. I thought you were asking if I’d put my UI into a compilation.

      As for making custom skins for the Taeoui, I really don’t know. I’d have to install the compilation and try it out first. If I can find the time I’ll give it a go šŸ™‚

  5. Razorback got it right, once we’ve finished with Taeo UI 2.0 the process of creating and implementing a new skin will be incredibly easy – we wanted to make it as easy as possible so anyone with some good design/Photoshop chops can dive in and make it happen.

    You DO have to touch a bit of LUA script but it’s like 5 lines that are more or less copy/pasted.

      • Tigerfeet
      • July 3rd, 2009

      Well, way back in the day I used to play Catz, and tried hexing with those. I was able to find a tutorial that told me what to change, where, and how.

      So as long as there’s directions included Taeo, I’m sure I’d be able to figure out how to work with it šŸ™‚ Let me know when 2.0 is ready, I’d love to give it a whirl.

  6. That’s quite beautiful!

    If you do make a polar version, I think my boyfriend would be extremely interested. They’re just gorgeous.

  7. That’s a damn good looking UI there, very nice work!

  8. Hello there! Quick question that’s entirely off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My website
    looks weird when browsing from my apple iphone. I’m trying to
    find a template or plugin that might be able to correct this issue.
    If you have any suggestions, please share. Many thanks!

      • Tigerfeet
      • March 15th, 2014

      I’m afraid I don’t have any advice for you in that regard. I’m simply using one of wordpress’ default themes. Actually I haven’t even tested it on a mobile device. Good luck though, I hope you find something that works šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.
