Pelt Watch

Lacking anything original to say (I have a post in the works about rangers, I just need to get the artwork sorted), I present to you a new ‘feature’.

Pelt Watch!

In which I look at charr pelts and extrapolate possible customization options. I will only use screenshots (no concept art) and I will be getting the majority of them from Guildwars Screenshots Blog. I’m also not going to include Rytlock because his model is unique and it’s possible his pelt will not be an option for regular characters. Click the images for full-resolution.

Let’s begin!

The charr on the right is definitely male and appears to have a medium brown, solid pelt. Male – Brown – Solid

The charr on the left is possibly female (evidinced by the thickness at the base of the tail, indicating possible fluffiness). There looks to be some striping on the tail as well. Unknown – Grey – Striped

The charr to the left I think is male because of his larger horns and heavier muzzle. I’m also going to call his coat medium brown because of the dark lighting. Male – Brown – Solid

The charr on the right is most definitely male. We have yet to see a female charr who is as sadly in need of a dentist as her male counterparts. So until I see scraggley teeth with a fluffy tail I’m going to assume that the lady-charr know how to brush. This one’s a bit difficult because he’s almost completely covered, but look at his face and his knee for some clues. Male – Grey – Spotted

I must confess myself flummoxed by the charr in the foreground. I think I see a little bit of grey tuft for a tail but that’s all. Unknown – Dark – Unknown

The charr in the background is another one of our medium brown males. Male – Brown – Solid

Here we have our first lady-charr. Isn’t she lovely? Female – Tan – Spotted

Our first happy couple. On the left we have: Male – Brown/Black – Striped

On the right I believe we have the same pelt as the elementalist in the previous image: Female – Tan – Spotted

Here we have a lady of a different color, still in that standard charr pose, however. Female – Brown – Solid

This is the second time we’ve seen some nice normal mapping on the charr pelts. (The first was on the tail of the previous lady-charr.) He’s also got a nice chin ruff that has previously only been seen on Rytlock. Male – Brown – Solid

Someone stole his cupcake, or something. Whatever, he’s mad. This is a pelt we haven’t yet seen. Male – Grey – Striped

For the record, I share her opinion that rocket-arrows are the better mouse trap. It’s a good thing I don’t have any rockets.

We’ve seen this lady before (she was featured in the warrior skills video, Arcing Shot) but this is the first time we’ve seen her from behind (and in high-resolution!) By looking at her face we can tell (by lack of the cheetah tear-drop) that this is a different pelt than the one featured on the elementalist. I also think this one runs more to grey than tan. Female – Grey – Spotted

This next one is from the Races of Tyria video. Jason in the comments down below brought it to my attention. He also mentioned some search terms I should try in youtube and I found the pertinent video without much trouble.

I don’t have any video editing software so I’m at the mercy of my meager reaction times for clicking on the pause button to create screen-captures.

Anyway, on to the meat of these two images! In the video this lady executes a spinning attack while wielding a sword in her off-hand and a dagger in her main-hand. For the purpose of PeltWatch, however, we are only interested in the fur she’s showing. The twirl she does gives us a wonderful view of her tail which looks to be white with black stripes. When she turns around, however, her face looks to be dark grey with white stripes. It’s the zebra conundrum. Female – Grey – Striped

This image is from the article on healing and death. We have a downed male charr here who looks to be in a world of hurt. The difficult part of this picture is the level to which it’s desaturated. I tried messing with it in photoshop but, like sharpening, once color information is lost it’s next to impossible to get it back. The colors on the charr blow out to yellow and red leading me to believe this is another solid brown pelt. Male – Brown – Solid

Tiger stripes.

TIGER

STRIPES

Give me a moment while I scrape my exploded-in-glee self from the walls.

It’s a female charr (in the Barrage video you can just see her fluffy tail whipping around behind her) plus I’ve come to associate the smaller swept-back horns with females. I could hope for a demure set of ram horns, but this is Pelt Watch, not Rack Watch… wait what? She’s also got cheek-fluff. Female – Orange – Striped

This color is… difficult. First of all this is male. You can tell by the larger horns and the non-fluffy tail. I included a thumnail from another point in the Hunter’s Call video. At first I called it a male because of the voice but I actually think that’s the voice of the ogres. Either way, the tail cinches it. This shot is very dark. I wanted to call it dark grey but when I fiddled with it in photoshop I was only ever able to get a dark grey (even when the rest of the details were blown out into whiteness). So I’m going to go out on a bit of a limb here and call it black. Male – Black – Solid

I believe we’ve seen this guy before actually. I think he has the same pelt as the charr we saw when the races were released. Male – Brown – Striped

  

 I don’t believe this is the same color as the charr in the warhorn video. I would cite his red mane (where the black charr had a white/grey one), but even just looking at it, I’m going to call this dark brown. Male – Dark Brown – Solid

Time might call me a liar (what with the lighting in this scene), but I think he’s got traditional tiger stripes. Male – Orange – Striped

These are definitely stripes as opposed to spots. I believe this is the female version of the male’s white stripes we saw in the Warrior-Stomp video. Female – White – Striped

Here’s the really exciting pelt from the MMO Manifesto video. He’s only on screen for a second, but with his full body (in all its white leopard-spotted glory) is spread across the bottom quarter of the screen he’s impossible to miss. I’m making a new pattern classification just for him. Male – White – Leopard

Holy moly Gamescom. There’s a lot of pelts in there, I doubt I’ve gotten all of them. If you see one you’d like to have included here (meaning any I haven’t mentioned) please send me a link in the comments or through e-mail.

This is a Lady-charr by virtue of her smaller horns and fluff at the base of her tail. In fact, with her left arm raised the way it is it’s next to impossible to see her horns at all. I’ve also darkened the male charr in the foreground to focus on her.

Her facial coloring reminds me of Bugs Bunny. I was going to call her simply ‘grey’, but looking at her arm and leg I beleive she’s something much more special. Her arm spots remind me of a snow leopard, but her leg spots scream clouded leopard at me. Female – Grey – Clouded

This pelt is one of the more unique ones I’ve seen. First of all this is a male, by virtue of his large horns and non-fluffy tail. I’m also fairly certain that he’s a necromancer because of what looks to be facial paint. You could also argue that he’s a warrior because of the armor he’s wearing. Either way, I’m not comfortable including his facial markings in my analysis.

Even without including his face, the colors and patterns on the rest of his body are things I haven’t seen elsewhere. His fur is black and he appears to have red, yes, red stripes. Not orange, red. Male – Black/Red – Striped

This shot was taken from the first bit of video to come out of Gamescom, during the demo’s dress rehersal. We have a Lady-charr, and I think she’s black. Female – Black – Solid

I apologise for this image being so small. I took a number of these (this one included) from the large group-shot in the Demo Tails blog (c wut I did thar?)

At first I thought this fellow was just a light grey, but then I saw his tail. Now, we’ve seen a grey spotted male charr before, but if you compare these two tails closely, you’ll see they are two different spot patterns. These spots are smaller, more akin to cheetah spots while the earlier image harkened back to the leopard. Male – White – Spotted

This one is also tragically small. To make matters worse this is all of the body you can see. I’m not sure if it’s even male or female (there’s no tail for this one in sight) but looking at the horns I’m going to call it male. I have yet to see a female with fluffy tail sporting swept forward horns like that. I really wish we could see more of the body though. Male – White – Solid

This was screencapped from a video (I can’t recall which, there are so many). It’s obviously a Lady-charr (a very pretty one I think, I’m a fan of petite muzzles). I also like the white details around her eyes. Because of that, while I would like to, I’m loath to call her pure white. Female – Light Grey, Solid

This ends the captures from Gamescom 2010. Once again, if there are any you know of that I haven’t included please either comment or e-mail me with a link and in the case of videos a ballpark time notation would be helpful.

So, to wrap up we have:

Male Solid: Brown, Black, Dark Brown, White

Male Pattern: Brown Stripes, Grey Spots, Grey Stripes, Orange Stripes, White Leopard, Black/Red Stripes, White Spots

Female Solid: Brown, Black, Light Grey

Female Pattern: Tan Spots, Grey Spots, Grey Stripes, Orange Stripes, White Stripes, Grey Clouded

Unknown: Grey Striped, Dark

~Last Updated 8/22/10

~This post will be updated with new shots as they become available. Suggestions welcome!

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (13)
  1. Ah so we’re both working on a ranger article eh? Mines nowhere near done so maybe i’ll be referencing yours in mine.

    Nice work on the charr appearances, Its interesting to learn a bit about character creation when anet isn’t telling us anything.

      • Tigerfeet
      • June 18th, 2010

      Haaaahahaha. If you find anything worthwhile to reference be my guest xD You’ll understand once you see the ‘article’ 🙂

  2. I love the attention to detail on anything Guild Wars 2 related. Nice work! 😀

    • Nox
    • June 23rd, 2010

    Gratz on the twitter shoutout!:)
    Just a heads-up, the gw2screenshots blog doesn’t have pics of every scene and angle. I only added ones that seemed important, so there may be pelts hidden away there.
    Yay for bloggers

      • Tigerfeet
      • June 24th, 2010

      Whosawhatsits? I don’t follow twitter at all. Who’s saying what about me?

      Holy crap I just went and dug around a bit. I’m giggling and kicking my feet and grinning like a loon. That makes my day! *I am so easily amused!*

    • Jason
    • June 24th, 2010

    In the Races of Tyria video there is an image of a female Charr assassin doing an acrobatic attack. You can find just this segment on Youtube if you search for “female charr assassin” or something to that degree.

    I mention this because she has a white-striped tail. It is difficult to tell other features, but it may be evidence of a white tiger furred Charr, similar to the white tigers in Cantha.

      • Tigerfeet
      • June 24th, 2010

      I’ll try to dig out a picture of that, thanks!

    • Brown Fang Thump
    • July 6th, 2010

    Well done. I look forward to more.

    • Felladin
    • July 14th, 2010

    Not sure you’ve registered it, but there is a picture of a defeated (?) charr in the Defeat and Healing text on http://www.guildwars2.com

    Btw, great podcast when you visited Relics of Orr!

      • Tigerfeet
      • July 14th, 2010

      Thanks for the tip! I’m very glad you enjoyed the episode as well 🙂

    • Baktwerel
    • March 20th, 2011

    You could update this section with dozens of PAX East Charr fur pattern goodies 😉

    One striking example would be this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=of3P9WouogU&feature=feedu_more around 5:36 (more Charr are shown but that cream-orange tabby is the most interesting one)

      • Tigerfeet
      • March 21st, 2011

      Thank you very much! At least one person who was at PAX East was keeping her eyes open for PeltWatch candidates, but I haven’t heard from her yet (she’s probably still sleeping off all the awesome). I’ll definitely include this! There’s another with the thief screenshots of blue fur that I need to get up there as well. I’m slackin!

      • ShaunNox
      • March 21st, 2011

      Oh my god, a ginger tabby with white markings! I never even thought of colours we see on domestic cats! <3333333333

Comments are closed.
