Shedding Some Light

I just checked out Hunter’s newest post about speculating on the silhouettes. This isn’t going to be a post about my own speculations (that will come later), but I found some interesting things in the .png files from the GW2 Wiki.

Now, I think the .png file type is the best thing since sliced bread. It allows multiple levels of transparency (something a .gif doesn’t do) and only rarely gives me haloing trouble.

Now, we look at the silhouettes online, on the wiki, even on the official page. There’s a problem with that. The backgrounds are all white. We see the grey and brown painted details but there are white details we can’t see.

I took the silhouettes from the GW2 Wiki, separated them, and put them on a colored background so we can see the dark and the light details.

Click for Full-Size

I used none of my usual trickery to make them look nice. In fact I think that salmon color looks pretty wretched but it does show up the black, white, and grey details nicely so that’s what we’re going with.

Like I said, I won’t make any speculations right now, but feel free to make your own guesses!

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (12)
    • San Darkwood
    • June 18th, 2010

    ooh, #3 is very intriguing, is that a standard or banner next to her? or maybe a floating sword…

      • Tigerfeet
      • June 18th, 2010

      If I didn’t know better I would say it’s a spear of some kind of polearm, but they don’t exist in GW2 yet. So my best guess is a sword, which is a bit of a bummer to me because before I did this I had her pegged as some kind of scholar.

  1. I have looked at this so many times… It’s impossible to tell anything besides the woman… It’s frustrating. I wanna see one of the least defined shapes revealed next, just so we can all go “ohhhh that’s what it is!”

      • Tigerfeet
      • June 18th, 2010

      I’m working on a paint-over of one of the silhouettes. 🙂 It’s taking forever because I keep forgetting my wacom at home.

    • Jason
    • June 18th, 2010

    Keep in mind when speculating about your salmon-colored silhouettes, that if you look at the warrior and elementalist images, they include the splash of color that appears when you mouse over the images (a light blue color for the ele and yellow for the warrior). These color splashes appear to be included in the layering and may throw off speculation a bit. Compare the two warrior images above with the one on the GW2 profession page when moused over and you’ll see what I’m talking about. Food for thought.

      • Tigerfeet
      • June 18th, 2010

      I actually didn’t notice that! Number 4 I was thinking to the right had some kind of spell castey detail, but it could just be the color splashes like you said.

    • Matt
    • June 18th, 2010

    Very interesting indeed. One can definetly make out details that were not visible before. Like I said over on Hunters blog it is kind of like a rorschach test, we can all see different things.

    The Charr’s left hand angled backwards and right leg forward almost as if it is climbing over something, or crouched on a rock or something with its right hand reaching down and forward holding on to it?

    The female Norn appears to have a split skirt thing on with one side shorter than the other. Kind of makes sense given what we have seen of female Norn attire.
    http://wiki.guildwars.com/wiki/Jora/Armor_gallery
    As for what she is holding I have no idea, I can see what you are saying about it being a sword. I have no idea.

    #4 I am stiking with my speculation that it is the other heavy armor profession. It looks like it is holding a shield. And the shape of its head is kind of boxy and sharply angled, makes me think plate armor.

    #5 & #6: Both of these look like they could be either a caster of an assassin. Though personaly #5 looks more assassin to me. #6 looks like it is wearing robes of some sort, and looks like it has boots with curled toes. Makes me think some sort of caster with a Middle Eastern Persian design influence. Which for some reason I cant explain makes me think Necromancer.

    #7: Yeah I have no clue your guess is as good as mine. I still say it looks like a fan in its hand so I am gunna stick with Mesmer on that one.

    Nice job isolating the images. And you are absolutely right that is a horrible horrible color.

      • Tigerfeet
      • June 18th, 2010

      I didn’t notice those details on the charr before. I almost wish more people knew how to do paint-overs because it’s often difficult to explain in words.

        • Matt
        • June 18th, 2010

        Looking at it again I see the Charr in a completely different position now. It looks like he is sitting, left knee facing straight on, right knee out at an angle. His left fore arm is resting on his left knee. His right arm his down between his legs possibly holding a smoking gun or something in his hand (bottem left of the image gray highlights).
        What I thought was his left hand facing backwards looks more like it might be the muzzle of a Charrzooka with smoke billowing out. The more I look at it, it looks like an animal face, like a raoring lion. The hard protusion coming from his left shoulder (top right of the image) I have no idea what that could be.

        Haha yeah I need a Wacom and some photoshop training.

        The Norn female, it looks like her left hand is palm up at her hip with fingers splayed and some sort of spell effect that looks like a sword Empathy maybe or Illusionary Weaponry?

    • Tigerfeet
    • June 18th, 2010

    Matt :

    The Norn female, it looks like her left hand is palm up at her hip with fingers splayed and some sort of spell effect that looks like a sword Empathy maybe or Illusionary Weaponry?

    Woah. Stop the presses I think you’re absolutely right about that hand. Holy cow I think you just blew my mind xD

    I really like your theory there. Partly because I can’t imagine BOTH norn being soldier classes. It just doesn’t offer enough variety. I think it would be silly to have two of the three largest characters wearing heavy armor.

  2. wow I have to redo all my predictions now. THANKS!#@%

    lol.

    seriously though, good work.

      • Tigerfeet
      • June 21st, 2010

      My husband tells me that I have turned terrible timing into an artform. 😉

Comments are closed.
