If I Hadn’t Seen Such Riches…

…I could live with being poor.

ArenaNet has raised the bar. They have opened a door upon a future that is bright and shining and shown us a land flowing with milk and honey.

I’ll never be able to play another MMO again.

Thanks a lot guys.

Maaaaaan!

These days, whenever I’m running around doing anything in Guild Wars 1 the phrase inevitably passes my lips: “Oh won’t it be great in Guild Wars 2 when ______?” Weather I’m wishing I could jump, participate in the battle in a downed state, or long for a more interesting gaming experience than whacking on health bars, I find myself pining after the future of gaming.

For example. In a recent article the world ‘toolbox’ was used. Suddenly an idea came to me which I’ll share here:

If skills are tools and your hands are a skill bar then you can only use two tools at a time. In Guild Wars 1 we had to pick our tools and leave the toolbox at home. In Guild Wars 2 we’ve learned to bring a back-pack. In the thick of the fight stopping to open our backpack, toolbox, and pull out a rubber mallet would get us killed, so we can’t do it. But once things have cooled off we will be perfectly free to put a different tool in our hands.

I think it’s an apt comparison, and please remember I’m referring to skills, not weapons. I’m aware you have swappable weapon sets (except for elementalists who can switch attunements but that’s neither here nor there)

I feel like I’ve passed a threshold. I have been interested in Guild Wars 2 because of my long association with Guild Wars 1. I appreciate the level of craftsmanship the artists display but meaty talk of game mechanics is usually something I only notice and don’t pick apart.

Lately, though, I find myself becoming ever more eager to actually play the game. Weather I can have tiger stripes, or how the asura or sylvari look, or even weather or not our importance is less than that of Divinity’s Edge… I just don’t care anymore. I don’t care about that stuff because the game itself sounds so damn fun that the storyline can be as disjointed as a limp noodle and I still think I’ll have more fun than I’ll know what to do with!

Maybe that’s just the hype engine doing its work. Whatever, I haven’t been this eager since… well, since I planted my swiss chard seed. And NOW look at it!

Incidentally, my husband calls it ‘swiss charr’, which leads to visions of giant horned cat-people in lederhosen (I just looked it up and realized that lederhosen is German, not Swiss, but such an image cannot be un-imagined)

Also – Pelt Watch has been updated. Added the Downed charr from the healing and death article.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (2)
  1. I’m not going to lie, i’ve been sold on gw2 since the first time they used the word “persistent” but they certainly haven’t disappointed since.

    i thought that was rhubarb at first.

      • Tigerfeet
      • July 14th, 2010

      Looks very similar, tastes more like spinach and the leaves aren’t poison 🙂 I love this stuff, and all from seed, it blows my mind!

Comments are closed.
