It’s Mine! NO It’s Mine! I Saw It Fiiiiiiirst!

That’s all I’ve been hearing for the past few days. I hear it from WoW fans and general haters alike. What are they saying?

The Shaterer looks like Deathwing. ArenaNet copies Blizzard!

Never mind that Blizzard’s looking for group feature was adapted from the ones in place with Guild Wars Classic and Warhammer Online. Never mind that Blizzard’s in-game voice chat (while admittedly a complete failure) was ripped off of Dungeons & Dragons Online. Never mind a hundred other things that Blizzard aggregated from other sources and implemented into their game.

Nope, because when someone else does it that’s when we’ll throw a fit. Yep.

I liked WoW. I liked it a lot. But I’m not going to sit here and rave about how it was an innovator in the genre. What it did was take a lot of tried and tested elements and put them together in such a way that a fun and addicting game was created. That’s why WoW is so popular and that’s why GW2 isn’t going to kill it. (GW2 + SWToR might, but that’s another blog post)

What is going to happen (by the grace of Dwayna) is that GW2 will be a fun engaging game that gives people a completely unique experience. Not everybody is going to enjoy that experience. Some people enjoy playing a spreadsheet (my husband), some people enjoy long, elaborate, and scripted boss fights (myself, so long as I’m not in charge). My hope is that there will be enough variety in GW2 that a majority of people will find something they enjoy, if not necessarily what they had expected.

But let’s take a look at those dragons why don’t we?

Shatterer is obnoxious to type, he shall henceforth be known as 'The Shatner'

Comparing the in-game Shatner and the concept art of Deathwing I can say “Ok, I know where you’re coming from”. I would point out that The Shatner has crystal shards for wings and no actual wingsails, is surrounded in lightning, and is purple. While Deathwing is red, has magma for innards and definitely has traditional dragon wings.

I don’t want to debate trifles though. Looking at silhouettes (which is what any good artist should do) I can say that yes, they look similar.

… Until I look at the in-game model. Honestly, I don’t know how they dropped that ball. Granted, the model looks fine. It’s typical WoW stylization which is also fine, but there was definitely something lost in translation between concept art and 3D rendering.

So if we want to compare apples to apples (please, let’s). Here’s concept art:

Those look like very different dragons to me. One is molten lava, the other is metal electricity. So they’ve both got a nice strong chin. That same logic doesn’t make Rytlock look like Christopher Reeve.

Now let’s compare in-game images:

Still, completely different. There’s the stylistic differences (because I’m a fangirl I would compare it to Monet vs Tex Avery), but we still have elemental differences. The Shatner is metal and electricity, Deathwing is stone and magma.

He put the DRAGON in the D&D

They both have horns, they both have wings. They share a similar silhouette. By that logic I would say they’re both ripping off of this guy.

So come on folks. It’s a dragon. There’s only so many ways to make a dragon look unique. So both games have them. Dragons for the ultimate bad-guy in GW2 have been in the planning stages at least since Eye of the North. I’m sure Blizzard has been keeping Deathwing under their hat for just as long.

Great minds think alike and hey… looks like we all (no matter what game we play) enjoy beating up on some dragons.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (17)
  1. When you think about it its not like either dragon rendition is incredibly original. They’re both derivative of the dragon art i most remember seeing from the 90s.

    I don’t see any similarities beyond them both being dragons.

    where did you see people complaining about this anyway?

      • Tigerfeet
      • August 13th, 2010

      Youtube, mostly. πŸ˜‰

      • ahhhh youtube has the worst of the worst…

        • Ven
        • August 17th, 2010

        How dare you speak ill of The Warcraft! Don’t you know that they invented everything about everything fantasy including elves!?

    • Matt
    • August 14th, 2010

    Heh this reminds me of the Avitar of Grenth vs WoW’s Conqueror’s Deathbringer garb armor controversy. They look very very similar but Grenth was there first.

    As for the dragons above the only similarity I can see other than both being dragons with wings and horns, is that it looks like both the artist have been influenced by Todd Lockwood’s style of dragons (atleast the headshape).

    As for which is cooler well it might be biased but my vote is for the Shatterer. Kekai is a fantastic artist. I think those WoW artists must agree. Hows the saying go? Mimicry is the sincerest form of flattery.

  2. When is a dragon not a dragon? When it’s a construct πŸ™‚

    I assume that the Shatterer is a construct in the fashion of the Jades, on a slightly larger scale of course. As far as dragons go, my personal view is that Shatterer is as original a concept as I have seen dragon wise for a long time, and probably the most visually impressive in-game dragon (any game). All we need now is the game.

    Concept art is a tricky subject. From a purely empirical viewpoint, Arenanet’s concept art successfully marries the finished product, therefore I assume close co-operation between Arenanets artists and coders.

  3. this is the first time i’ve heard of deathwing, so just adding my thougts: guessing deathwing is the main antagonist in catagasm? whereas the shatner is well a small enemy comapared to those other elder dragons.
    not to be picky too but well the concept art shows deathwing as a lot bigger than in game. and, well as bad-ass looking a dragon can be its really not going to look that scary when positioned on a lovely bridge next to lushious green fields in a quiant town?

    also the shatner doesn’t really look like it fits into to tyria much o_0

      • Tigerfeet
      • August 14th, 2010

      Yeah, I chose to show the Deathwing-in-Stormwind image because you can see his details better. If you’d like to see what he looks like in his natural environment take a look here: http://blizzardry.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=112&d=1278387194 I actually wish I had a better image of The Shatner in-game because he looks really bad-ass in the video but it’s difficult to see details.

    • Ven
    • August 15th, 2010

    I get it wow is popular, I get it there’s a lot of diehard fans, but this this hostility to any game that even is considered competition to it borders on fanaticism. As a former long time player of wow the game is polished, and for the most part fun. But wow didn’t invent dragons, in fact Blizzard didn’t invent a lot of their stuff, they took ideas from other sources and just polished it and made it easier accessible.

    • nathan
    • August 16th, 2010

    A friend brought up this comparison recently, implying that the GW team ripped off an idea from Cataclysm. I really don’t think so. The Shatterer is very reminiscent of GW’s bone dragons, the most notorious of which (Rotscale) was present in the BWEs way back in 2004. I’d say that ArenaNet is just playing the nostalgia card, giving a small nod to their first game.

    • Vlo
    • August 16th, 2010

    When I saw the Shatterer (Shatner) in the trailer for the first time, he reminded of Godzilla from the American made movie because of it’s posture.

      • Tigerfeet
      • August 16th, 2010

      You’re absolutely right! I didn’t even think of that xD

    • magnus
    • August 1st, 2011

    Guild Wars doesnt need to rip off anything
    Blizzard just sucks

    • Shawn
    • August 2nd, 2011

    The Shatterer was revealed before Cataclysm was even announced. Check mate.

      • Tigerfeet
      • August 2nd, 2011

      Um, I’m pretty sure it wasn’t. The Shatterer was revealed during Gamescom last year and Cataclysm released last fall, so we knew Deathwing was coming. That still doesn’t mean ArenaNet was copying. Like I said in my article, dragons are fantasy bread and butter, everybody does dragons.

    • Shawn
    • August 5th, 2011

    Cataclysm was ANNOUNCED last fall, it released around the end of the year (I know, because I pre-ordered) but the shatterer I remember being revealed in August of last year

      • Tigerfeet
      • August 5th, 2011

      I don’t see how that’s possible considering my post has Cataclysm artwork in it with Deathwing and it’s dated Autust 13th, 2010.

      I don’t doubt you’re correct about Cataclysm’s launch date as I’m pretty fuzzy on those details, but still, the post date stands.

Comments are closed.
