Yeah, I Went There

The Hall of Monuments is a place for your Guild Wars character to put up her prizes for future generations. I already know that my future incarnation in Guild Wars 2 will have fur and enjoy ripping face.

But what about Morgan’s actual descendants? I’m a bit crazy about geneology (damn you Civil War for destroying my family’s papers so that I’ll never be part of the DAR!!!), and throw in a timeline for everything that happens in the Guild Wars universe, let stew for 250 years and you’ve got a recipe for disaster.

I present to you the product of my insanity. An account of my main character in Guild Wars, Morgan Ascot, and her children, as laid down in the Durmand Priory by her youngest son.

The Ascot Family Chronicle

After the youngest son dies no more history is recorded. Instead I’ve set myself up a history for any human character I might like to make int he future.

The Ascot family, as founded by Morgan and Bayhas, remain strong devotees of Dwayna. Through trade and support of Queen Salma (and later Queen Jennah) the Ascots now enjoy a prominent place in human society. They are largely of Elonian descent.

The Billings family, as founded by the warrior Asma and then Lidda Ascot and Daniel Billings enjoy a modest life as Moa ranchers. They produce the finest moa meat and eggs in the Divinity Coast region as well as offering Golden Moas as pets for aspiring rangers. They marry widely and are largely of Krytan descent.

The Leovinus family, thanks to the actions of its founder, Marcinta, have never been what one would call respectible. To take the low road in Divinityโ€™s Reach is to find a Leovian trickster plying his trade. They are largely of Ascalonian or Canthan descent.

Also, I have fanart.

I don’t know why an asura would want to wear a fedora (other than the fact that they’re awesome) but this one certainly loves his.

Specifics – Sketched and painted in Photoshop CS2 using a Wacom Intuos 3.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (11)
    • Jason
    • August 24th, 2010

    I have to say, I appreciate the time you’ve spent on the history of your character(s). I have a timeline for Belzan somewhere that I need to update. It’s mostly the story of his parents and his life up to EotN, but I have plans to write out what happens between EotN and GW2. I made him immortal (hey, he’s a necromancer…it’s plausible!), and no, I won’t tell you how he did it…yet. You have to wait like everyone else ๐Ÿ™‚

    Completely unrelated: I love the little pic you have of the charr eating the twitter bird. When I roll my charr character(s) for GW2, I might see if you’d do a commission for me for my blog.

      • Tigerfeet
      • August 25th, 2010

      I could perhaps be tempted into doing something ๐Ÿ™‚ Problem is I’m a wretched costume designer, so if I have armor designs to look at it’ll turn out better (eg, once the game’s released)

      I’m also willing to draw characters other than charr as well. I’ve been thinking of funny things I could do with sylvari lately for example ๐Ÿ™‚

        • Jason
        • August 25th, 2010

        Sold! I’ll get you screenies and such whenever ANet gets around to releasing their Awesomenewfuntoy. I’d be happy to repay you with ingame goodies or story writing or whatever. At some point I need to track down Morgan in game and say hello. I’ve got some vanquishing to do and monks are always welcome!

  1. I know from my own battle with timelines how tough a retrospective event list can be to produce ๐Ÿ˜€

    Now all we need do is figure out how to concoct a genealogy that allows Charr, Asura, and Norn descendants from human ancestors. Sylvari I have sorted ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Ven
      • August 25th, 2010

      Lol that’s going to be some work to figure those out, I just hope no one makes fanfics though.

      Tig, yay! I was hoping to finally see this and now I do it’s awesome! Too bad I don’t hear more about Mei =(

        • Tigerfeet
        • August 25th, 2010

        I’d like to do some more with Mei and Astragar (I love that name far too much to leave it lie), but Tyler never knew his niece survived, so her story won’t be recorded in the Priory. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Tigerfeet
      • August 25th, 2010

      I had planned to add in another character with the premise she took in baby norn when they fled from Jormaug, but by that time I was reaching the ‘this is turning into a chore’ phase and my notes had wandered off so I decided to call it a wrap.

  2. next he needs to be playing some jazz. give him a trumpet, put him in a band on stage with a crowd watching playing mac the knife.

      • Tigerfeet
      • August 25th, 2010

      Oh man I LOVE that song. I’m such a sucker for big band.

        • Jason
        • August 25th, 2010

        I have to say, I miss playing jazz. I was a solo trumpeter in high school and college (to be clear, I played the technical solos, not the ones where you hit a high not and wail and squeal and get noticed). I had so much fun playing the standards.

  3. Yeah, so clearly I saw this post the first time around. You got me thinking though. As I reread your history, I need to spend some time on my own. I have a couple human timelines to write out for sure, and I may write 1-2 more basing GW2 characters off descendants of GW1 characters. That could be a lot of fun actually. Some, however, will have stories that are brand new.

Comments are closed.
