Into The Ether

Well, after 10 days, many slaughtered tutorials, one crash and innumerable re-renderings, my Guild Wars 2 Ambassador video is finished.  I submitted it to ArenaNet last night.

At first I wasn’t sure about posting it on my blog.  It’s set to private (the only way you can find it is with the url), and I have comments disabled.  When in a creative cycle you go through a phase of elation, that you’ve made the best thing ever.  This quickly degenerates into hating your work with the fury of a thousand burning suns.  Eventually that feeling cools to mild dislike followed simply by the will to do better next time.

I’ve reached that final stage.  If my video is good enough to send to ArenaNet, then it’s good enough to share with all of you, the people who supported me and cheered me on through the whole process.  Thank you all.

I hope you enjoy it, but even more, I hope ArenaNet likes it as much as I did at the height of my creative cycle.  Even if I get no recognition, however, it was a fantastic experience, a whirlwind adventure into a new program, and a return to my greatest love: 3D art.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (6)
    • Melissa
    • May 9th, 2011

    It’s a pity you disabled comments on your video, because it’s great, and it deserves the recognition. The first time I watched it, I actually got goosebumps from your enthusiasm. That 3d art, the story you’re telling, and the tone of your voice in telling it… amazing combination! One of the best submissions I’ve seen so far!

      • Tigerfeet
      • May 9th, 2011

      Thank you very much 🙂 I’m very uncertain about youtube in general just because the amount of vitriol that gets spewed there daily. That, and I prefer to keep interaction through my blog and twitter. I’m far too scatterbrained to manage multiple venues xD

  1. Oh, the size of the grin that spread across my face watching this video. 🙂 Best of luck; I think this is the most creative entry out there!

      • Tigerfeet
      • May 10th, 2011

      Thanks! I hope ArenaNet agrees with you 🙂

    • ArcherAvatar
    • May 9th, 2011

    The enthusiasm in your voice came across to me as sincere and infectious. (Call the CDC level of infectious!)

    Brilliant job all around. I feel a bit silly saying this but, the best aspect of it to me was that it was purely original work. I don’t mean to knock any of the other entries (I’ve enjoyed many of them quite a bit.) but, so many of them are simply VO on re-edited cinematics from ArenaNet.

    New… original… creative… enthusiastic… genuine. You hit that one out of the park girl.
    That’ll do meow… that’ll do…

      • Tigerfeet
      • May 10th, 2011

      lol! Well, it wasn’t purely my own work, there was a section where I used ArenaNet videos. I’m finding that everything that makes me unhappy about it (sound effects) is the fault of Adobe Premiere, which is odd because I’ve used that program before. Maya was a breeze compared to figuring out how to edit audio in premiere >:C

Comments are closed.
