PeltWatch 2.0

Since the ArenaNet Community Open House a whole bunch of juicy little tidbits have been percolating through the collective conscious of the Guild Wars 2 community.  It wasn’t until just today that a super sneak peek of the charr physical customization came to my attention.

Namely, this image:

Thanks bunches to Overlord from Guild Wars 2 Guru for pointing it out to me!

Of course, how could I not go squee over, not just some character customization, but a TIGER on screen!  Give me a moment here people….

I haz a happy

Okay, now, without further ado, I present to you: PeltWatch 2.0!

Some notes on my method:

  • All colors are my best guess as an approximation.
  • Color names are my own.
  • Colors were picked directly from the color selections available in the screenshot.
  • First the charr was cut out and then converted to greyscale.
  • Colors were then put on a layer above the greyscale version and set to either color, overlay, or multiply blending modes.
  • Almost all colors were tweaked after eyedropping the base color to get a match as close to the swatch as possible.
  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (5)
  1. Pelt Watch 2.0 is the best pelt watch you can find anywhere! Keep it up! This sounds like spam!

      • Tigerfeet
      • July 1st, 2011

      hahahaha! Thank you! If you’re going to spam me though, you could at LEAST make it a HAM-STORM 😉

  2. I love it. When I saw the palette image I immediately thought of you. Thanks for going to the trouble of providing us with samples. I’m already planning my female charr thief!

      • Tigerfeet
      • July 1st, 2011

      what excites me is we don’t even know what all the patterns are yet! If you look carefully too, the charr on the left has different lower and upper horns than the charr on the right. Initially I was sad when they said customization wouldn’t be as extensive as Aion, but looking at the options they’re giving us I think I’ll be quite happy. They’ve added a bunch of functionality right in the areas that are most important to me. 🙂

        • Yarr
        • July 7th, 2011

        I think when they say the customization won’t be as extensive as Aion they are talking about the extreme settings Aion has. While I have no problems with a knee-high character (I even have one myself on the Aion test server), I don’t think that would fit in with GW’s lore. Well, for non-Asurans that is. 😉

        Aion also has some crazy extreme settings that totally distort body parts and I don’t like that at all. While most of those characters are gone now, I still see a few totally bizarre distorted characters occasionally, even high level ones. I wonder if the player regrets doing that after awhile?

        I just hope GW2 uses Aion’s facial sliders (without the extremes) so we can create a bit more varied faces. Aion also now has selections for a variety of standing poses and various running/movement animations, which I’d definitely welcome in GW2, as long as they looked good. More variety is always welcome as long as players can’t create lore-destroying mutations for characters. 🙂

Comments are closed.
