Happy Little Villager

I’ve teamed up with an independent game developer to make art for his god game, Planitia.  Here’s some of the villager animations I finished recently.  I hope you all enjoy a peek at what’s been keeping me so busy lately.

To everyone who still follows me, thank you very much for your patience 🙂  If you look through my blog history, especially in regards to the posts about my time raiding in WoW, you’ll notice a trend.  My favored type of blogging involves sharing stories about things that have happened to me.  I’m still SUPER excited about Guild Wars 2, but I’m not playing the game yet so I can’t share my normal day-in-the-life anecdotes.  So instead I’m focusing my energy on improving my artwork.

I invite you all to come along with me on this ride, my journey into professionalism 🙂  Also, I have developed a rather unhealthy obsession for hang gliding.  There may be posts in the future about my more personal escapades, especially when they involve flight.  I hope you don’t mind, but even if you do, you’re welcome to not read.

One last note, I believe in honesty.  A part of that is honesty about my past.  I have no intention of deleting any of my old posts (in fact, all my WoW stuff is still there).  So if there was something you enjoyed rest assured it’s going to stay right where it is. 🙂

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (11)
  1. Looks awesome! Reminds me of the customers who walk around the park in Themepark 😀

    Did you sign up for the guildwars beta? It’s looking super awesome.

      • Tigerfeet
      • February 23rd, 2012

      I did indeed 🙂 If we get in and aren’t allowed to advertise our participation, look for Tigerfeet. I probably won’t be wearing shoes.

      It’s been forever since I’ve heard from you, how’s the east coast treating you?

      • Sorry! I don’t use google+ much, I’m more of a facebook kinda guy 😛 Baltimore is good, the weather’s been much nicer than Iowa, which I like! The job is really really awesome, but Amber and I are still a little lonely on the friend front. We’re getting by though 🙂

        How’re things with you?! 😀

        • Tigerfeet
        • February 25th, 2012

        Working super hard to improve my portfolio and learn programs. Zbrush is really taking me for a ride. I used it to create that goblin for the Anet internship test and it STILL feels like a pile of unintelligible voodo to me :/ But I figure if I just keep working with it I’ll puzzle it out eventually. I think I’ve finally figured out I need to style myself as a character artist too. I still love animation to pieces, but one thing at a time.

        Facebook now has groups like G+ doesn’t it? I haven’t touched it in ages and my friends list is a sucking morass of old high school acquaintances and people I hardly know. Do you have any tips for sorting? I don’t even remember how to remove friends and it’s been daunting to start.

        Oh oh! Are you still subscribed to the IGDC? There’s a meetup in March and then something else on the 20th. I’m super excited to actually get to meet some like-minded Iowans in person 😀

      • I think you can do that with facebook, the grouping still isn’t as good as circles, so I don’t use it at all, but I understand the annoyingness of highschool drama still existing 😛

        It’s pretty easy to remove friends now, there’s little arrows by every post anyone makes that opens a drop down that includes how much you want to see from that person, or whether or not you just wanted to not follow them anymore

        As for zbursh…ugh. I eventually may learn it, but I think I’ll stick with Mudbox and struggling with that. I do need to do some 3d art again, I misses it.

        And yes! I see the IDGA stuff. I’m excited for you to go meet some Iowa game makers, I’m just sad I wont be able to go *pout*

        • Tigerfeet
        • February 26th, 2012

        Well make sure to peek at G+ every now and again, Going to be doing some more livestreaming. Are you on twitter? I always advertise there when I’m streaming too.

  2. Hooray professionalism, personal escapades and reaching for your dreams!

  3. Looking good! I was just starting to wonder where you’d gone off to… :).

    I’ll be easy to find in the GW2 beta as well if I am lucky enough to be one of the “chosen.”

    • Wulf
    • February 26th, 2012

    That villager is adorable.

    Also, might I suggest trying out Sculptris (http://www.pixologic.com/sculptris/) and Blender’s shrink-wrap? An artist friend of mine, Howlitzer, absolutely swears by it. (Not to mention that both Sculptris and Blender are free.)

    It may be easier than trying to work with Zbrush, anyway. Just thought I’d pass that along.

      • Tigerfeet
      • February 26th, 2012

      Hey thanks! I’ll definitely take a look at Sculptris 🙂

    • ArcherAvatar
    • February 29th, 2012

    Last I checked there were no set schedules for bloggers… heh.

    I’m just happy to see that you’ve been pleasantly occupied with your artwork while we all wait on GW2. I’m certain it will be worth the wait. Looking forward to reading excerpts from escapades in the lands of Tyria.

Comments are closed.
