The Sage Of Spirit

I’ve been wanting to make a fully 3D current-next gen rendition of Nabooru for AGES.  If you’re giving me a funny look, and don’t know who Nabooru is, she’s the sage of spirit from Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time.  The lady in the desert, leader of the Gerudo (in Gannondorf’s evil absence, ’cause anything he ever does is evil), the one that gets taken by the witches and brainwashed and stuck into an Iron Knuckle suit of armor and forced to fight you.

Here’s her official art:

And this is what she looks like in game:

I was INSPIRED to choose her as subject matter for my next project because of some truly stunning fanart I found on DeviantART.  The artist goes by Iroas, and the piece in question is this one:

There’s another piece with just sketches here.  Yes, you have to click through.  Show him some love.  I’m going to be cribbing a lot from the designs.  I love the shorter ponytail, the head scarf, and the fact she’s got the silver gauntlets.  She’s queen of the desert, I want her to look as such.

Right now I’m working on a blockout in Maya, then I’ll take her into Zbrush for sculpting and adding the clothing/hair.  Tonight during the Crunch Cast I finished my blockout and started sculpting, this is how far I’ve gotten so far:

I expect this to change quite a bit as I work.  It’s still very rough and needs a lot of love.

Comments are closed.
