Archive for January 9th, 2011

Mmmm, Savory

For breakfast today I had an omelette, wrapped around bacon, topped with cottage cheese, and sprinkled liberally with pepper.  Some people would have preferred a stack of pancakes smothered in butter and maple syrup, or even a nice simple bowl of cereal.

Not me.  Given the choice I’m more likely to choose something savory to something sweet.  I don’t like baking, and the only confection I make are sugar plums, which don’t actually contain any added sugar (beyond that already present in the dried fruits).  But hand me a wok and random vegetables and meat I can make a hundred different things.  Stir frys, curries, stews, soups.  No two meals I make are the same because I don’t bother with recipes.  They all have something in common though:

Savory.

So while munching my breakfast and enjoying the flavor, my mind started to wander upstairs.  It drifted into my bedroom and fluttered over to my night-stand to coalesce on its newest addition: Edge of Destiny.

I traveled into the city yesterday and picked it up.  So far I’ve read through the prologue, the first chapter (which is available online) and the second chapter.  By that point I was really tired and I went to sleep.

It’s almost 3pm today and I haven’t touched it.  Thinking back to when I got Ghosts of Ascalon, if this were a repeat I would be racing through the book, looking for clues about Guild Wars 2 and trying desperately to keep up with the rest of the community.

Back when Ghosts was released I was heavily integrated in the community.  I stalked Guild Wars 2 Guru almost every day and I hung on every typed word to come from the fingers of an Arenanet employee.

I don’t know if it’s the slowed pace of released news, the fact that I no longer haunt community sights, or just the fact that I’m already a couple weeks late to the party.  I’m taking my time with this one.  I don’t feel the need to get through it as fast as possible, though while reading that seems to be the opposite.

The writing is pulling me in.  I can tell a good story when I find myself skipping words and sometimes whole lines to find out what happens next.  I can’t say more without spoiling it, suffice to say that I’m enjoying what has come so far.

I’ll definitely give my impressions when I’m finished, but for now I’ll leave you with this:  I loved Rytlock on sight.